We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“History of America”

National Constitution Center
Book In Advance
More Info
US$55.00*
and up
Philadelphia CityPASS
Ranked #17 of 438 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The National Constitution Center is the first and only nonprofit, nonpartisan institution devoted to the U.S. Constitution and its legacy of freedom. Located two blocks from Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell in Historic Philadelphia, the Center illuminates constitutional ideals and inspires active citizenship as a state-of-the-art museum, a civic education hub and America's Town Hall.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Jamestown, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“History of America”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I didn't have as much time to stay here and surrounding landmarks as I wish I would have. There were a lot of sites to take in just inside the National Constitution Center. In short, the start of our independence is on display. Plus I found myself loving all the states flags hanging high from the ceiling.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    697
    315
    116
    41
    20
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful tour and exhibits”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Absolutely superb presentation of our history and Constitution. A must see. The live actor presentation was a masterpiece.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron_from_Brooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Must see while in Philadelphia”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is an amazing center - with everything you ever wanted to know about the United States Constitution and more. I really enjoyed the opening show with the narrator - very neat thing to see. I was pleasantly surprised at all the interactive displays that the center has to teach you about how the Constitution has affected people's lives to how the Constitution has evolved over the years and been challenged. They also had voting booths that you could go in and see which president you would most likely vote for based on their views. The special exhibit was about Thomas Jefferson's slaves. It was very informative, and I learned many things throughout the three hours I spent in the center. The center is very clean and well organized. The staff was helpful as well. Small children might find the center a bit boring, but older kids and adults will enjoy what the center has to offer - especially if they are into social studies/history. It was a great way to spend a hot afternoon in Philadelphia!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tsflash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
391 reviews
228 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 373 helpful votes
“This will take you longer than expected as there is so much to see...”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The National Constitution Center is a fascinating insight into so many aspects of American history and the society engendered by the Founding Fathers. It is quite clear that exhibitions change regularly but whilst we were there was a brilliant exhibition about 1968. My grandson thought it hilarious that I was only 15 at the time many of the artefacts on display were very familiar to me especially the cassette recorder – a ‘portable’ much bigger than a brick and much heavier. Either way there wasn’t a dull moment in the whole building and we even got a chance to sign the Constitution towards the end of the tour. Almost overwhelming in the amount of displays but this is not to be missed. Wonderful.

P.S. I inadvertently used a National Constitution Center photo in my TripAdvisor review of the US Mint so I include a photo of the US Mint one here for completeness as they are geographically next to each other…

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EximiousTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good information”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I spent an enjoyable two hours visiting the Center. The show Freedom Rising is very well done. The rest of the displays on the 2nd floor are very interesting and informative. I was disappointed the display of statues of the signers of the Constitution was closed - I feel customers should be told that when purchasing a ticket. Be sure to take advantage of the clean bathrooms!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank margmrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Constitution Center also viewed

 

Been to National Constitution Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing