We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cornerstone Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 25 Philadelphia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
“Great Place to Stay!”
Reviewed 21 November 2011

I came to run the Philly Marathon and waited too long to book my accommodations. Thankfully, I was able to find a room at Cornerstone B&B and the rate was very reasonable and the location was PERFECT for the race. The owners are super hospitable and our room was perfect. Just wish that I didn't have to leave for the race at 5:30am and could have stayed and had an actual breakfast!

Room Tip: I stayed in the Furness Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aaron g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    47
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
74
97
29
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We stayed at the Cornerstone just the night before the USMLE. The location is absolutely perfect (a 10-15 minutes walk to reach both the examination centers on Market St) and the host is really friendly and helpful (he provided a map to reach the center and he even offered to lend me a lab coat, in case I had forgotten mine!).
Our room was really homey, with fine decor and warm colors, perfect for relaxing before a stressful day.
I would definitely recommend to stay here if you seek comfort and don't like aseptic hotels.
Don't forget to ask for the special discount reserved for USMLE examinees!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BojanUliev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2011

I chose Cornerstone because it was two blocks from my daughter's dorm at Drexel and I was visiting for Parent's weekend. From the first phone call and throughout my entire stay the owners (Chris, Liz and Dennis) went out of their way to ensure that they attended to every last detail. The weekend breakfast was fantastic and the warm and welcoming envirionment was exactly what I hoped for. I am not usually a bed and breakfast fan but I would not hesitate to return to Cornerstone.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

I stayed in this B&B with my family last October. We chose to stay in a B&B instead of a hotel thinking of having a welcoming place and a nice breakfast! The prices we paid for each of the rooms was about $200 so I do not consider this a bargain considering you can stay at nicer place (hotels) for less. The owners did not offer much advice on recommendations on what to do on a Sunday afternoon. We all had a terrible night sleep thanks to a combination of: (i) sleeping in an old building where you can hear every noise possible made by other guests, and (ii) the location of the hotel. I was at the point of laughing when having breakfast... Other than a miniscule portion of fruit served in a cordial glass, there were old cereal bars and regular cereal.
Finally, we left my daughter's tiny pillow in the B&B and requested the owners to mail it to us. This was a month ago, no news yet...

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moniwash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris S, Owner at Cornerstone Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 November 2011
We appreciate the observations and opinions expressed by this guest concerning the Cornerstone and will keep them in mind as we continue to work to improve the experience of future guests.
Our continental style breakfast is available weekdays because the majority of our guests have indicated that this style best suits their requirements. Our offering includes; fresh brewed coffee and a selection of teas; fresh fruit; yogurts, orange and cran-raspberry juices; a fresh baked good or pastry (scone, muffin, etc.); and a selection of cold cereals. In addition, several varieties of breakfast bars as well as biscotti are available. These are restocked on a regular basis.
Both our website and in room concierge booklet contain a listing of a number of attractions near the Cornerstone. The Philadelphia Art Museum, the Philadelphia Zoo, the Liberty Bell, Constitution Hall, Center City Philadelphia, Boat House Row, are simply a sampling of the offerings in close proximity of the Cornerstone.
We do apologize for the delay in sending back the small pillow. We had misplaced the name of the party that had left this item behind. Once we identified the family, we sent it back to them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summit Station, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

My now fiance and I had a very romantic stay at Cornerstone Bed and Breakfast. Not only was the family who owned the B&B warm and welcoming, but the entire mansion was beautiful. Everything was so clean and well kept. We stayed on a Sunday night, so we had a lovely continental breakfast of fruit with egg custard served in long stemmed wine goblets, homemade muffins that were out of this world, and a mix of cereals and breakfast bars, juice, tea, milk and coffee. Our room had it's own bathroom and shower, and was beautifully decorated. We also received two fee passes to visit the Eastern State Pennitentiary for a daytime tour, which is an interesting part of Philadelphia history. Close to major universities, the Franklin Institute and so much more, it was an experience that neither of us will soon forget... besides the fact that we became engaged that night. We will most definitelly recommend this B&B to everyone we know, and will be back hopefully more than once.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We chose Cornerstone because we have stayed in B&B's in the US before and found them to be very good standard and very welcoming. We were not disappointed at the Cornerstone B&B - Dennis and Liz were wonderful hosts and did everything possible to make our stay as comfortable and easy as possible, even driving us to the station for an early start one morning. We have had difficulties finding B&B's in the US that have twin bedded rooms and the Cornerstone had a lovely twin bedded room with all the facilities that you could wish for. We would recommend this property to anyone considering staying in Philadelphia and it is close to the station and other ameneties.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed in Philadelphian at Cornerstone with my husband last November. We were lucky, since if the city were not full-booked because of two conferences at that time, we would stay somewhere downtown and missed the opportunity to stay here.
The building was like a fairy tale house. The interior and exterior was very tastefully decorated. The room and the common areas were very clean and tidy. Chris was a wonderful host. The continental breakfast was wonderful with fresh fruit salad and homemade muffins.
Our room was very comfortable and quiet altough it was on the first floor just opposite the main entrance and everything we needed was available.
Very close to the Philadelphia train station, Drexel University and UPenn. Easy access to downtown by subway. Nice neighborhood. Not cheap but worth every penny.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zuzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
University City
Hilton Inn at Penn
Hilton Inn at Penn
#3 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,367 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
789 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,347 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornerstone Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornerstone Bed & Breakfast

Property: Cornerstone Bed & Breakfast
Address: 3300 Baring St, Philadelphia, PA 19104-2529
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cornerstone Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Philadelphia's Cornerstone Bed and Breakfast, an elegant and cozy urban inn located within walking distance to the University of Pennsylvania, Drexel University, and the Philadelphia Museum of Art. Cornerstone offers a unique opportunity to enjoy Philadelphia with Center City only minutes away and easily accessible by public transportation. The Cornerstone offers the following amenities at no additional charge: *Wifi * Breakfast * Zoo Package *Eastern State Package * Street Parking * Toiletries The Cornerstone Bed and Breakfast is a family owned and operated business. We look forward to making your visit a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cornerstone Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornerstone Hotel Philadelphia
Cornerstone Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing