We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cornerstone B&B - USMLE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cornerstone Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 25 Philadelphia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I stayed at the Cornerstone B&B for 1 day for the USMLE step 2 CS examinations. Right from the onset, I was made to feel very welcomed by Dennis. It helps that he is VERY familiar and experienced having had many USMLE step 2 CS candidates stay at Cornerstone, and is able to give excellent advice on simple administrative issues like maps to the test center, walking distances and duration, timings to meet, useful advice on things to bring.

I was blown away by the extent of his hospitality extended to myself. As my train was booked for 8pm, Dennis kindly kept my belongings at Cornerstone until the evening, and gave me plenty of advice on how to pass my time in Philly whilst waiting for my train - including having the compulsory Philly cheesesteak. It started raining just as I was planning to make my way to the train station, and Dennis actually personally drove me to the train station! This has definitely been one of the best hotel/B&B stays I've ever had. Thanks Dennis for the experience even though it was less than a day!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013

I reserved a 3-person suite for 3 nights. Although the configuration of the rooms was slightly awkward in the top floor of the house, we had enough room to be completely comfortable.
The Continental Suite queen bed was extraordinary--the perfect balance of firm yet squishy.
I do wish there were a few more hanging spots, in lieu of no closet, but we managed.
Our rooms were tidied and towels changed each day. The owners offered constant tea, which I loved. (Don't want to skip my night-time camomile.)
I'd love to have their skylight in my own bathroom. It was effective.
Warning: it takes a long time for the hot water to reach the top floor shower, but when it does, it's scolding! (The owners could place a mark for the ideal position to set the shower water.)
The breakfasts were wonderful (on the weekends), and the continental spread on the weekdays was more than enough variety--the muffins and stuffed French Toast were divine!

Room Tip: The stairs to the Continental Suite are a bit precarious. It was, however, extremely quiet up there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petite_Miss_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Take it from a long-time B & B user, Cornerstone B & B is a great place to stay.My friends and I attended a convention in Philadelphia, but we didn't want to stay near the convention center. We wanted to stay someplace comfortable and quiet--someplace that was like being at home.We hit the jackpot with Conerstone Bed & Breakfast. This friendly, family-run B & B is in a lovely neighorhood adjacent to Drexel University, just blocks from the subway (3 train stops from the convention center). The place is just as homey, clean and cozy as it could be. The hosts are kind and helpful with restaurant recommendations, directions to local culture spots and knowledge of local running spots, as well. Continental breakfast (cereals, yogurt, hard-boiled eggs and home baked cakes and muffins) is served in a spacious dining room and if you are fortunate enough to stay on the weekend, special breakfasts are served on Saturdays, Sundays and holidays (walnut pancakes or fresh fruit-filled stuffed bread)! The convention kept us very busy and when we arrived for the evening, the sleep was peaceful. If you're in Philadelphia, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Best to stay in the Furness, Philadelphia or University Suite. These are the rooms that don't f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

If you are like us and prefer staying in a small Inn/House as opposed to a hotel, Cornerstone Bed & Breakfast is for you!! Everything impressed us! The care and attention given to the total experience
of staying there is A # 1! The very best thing about our visit, though, was the care, help and attention we received from Dennis, Liz and Chris.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good and very tastefully appointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joyce h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Absolutely wonderful experience :) The owner was incredibly kind, personable and made my entire experience so pleasant! He had maps drawn out and a list of places that were within walking distance to try out. The room was beautifully decorated and so very comfortable; I felt like I was at home! The house was absolutely gorgeous and the aesthetics are so warm and cozy. The breakfast was so fresh and absolutely delicious (best coffee ever!) My overall experience was absolutely perfect and I look forward to spending time there in the future!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Astrid_Marie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My partner and I stayed here in late June - I forget the date! Anyway, my partner made the reservation and I was a little skeptical when I realized how close we would be to downtown Philly. No worries though, it's a nice neighborhood with some cool and funky homes and it's super close to great places to see.

Minutes from the museum and the old Penitentiary (which the Innkeeper gave us tickets to), and a hop from the historic area of Philly.

Parking is on street, but you have to expect that this close to everything! Not a problem for us as we were able to park right in front.

Innkeepers were very pleasant as were the other guests. The continental breakfast was quite acceptable with good choices provided. The Inn is roomy and very clean with a terrific front porch to relax on in the evening with a cup of java.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This place is great friendly and welcoming.... very clean, beautiful rooms, great location and wonderful breakfast definitely a place to stay if you are going to Philly...
Thank you Chris, Jules, Liz and Dennis!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annalisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 88 in Philadelphia
1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 88 in Philadelphia
3,346 reviews
University City
The Gables Bed and Breakfast
The Gables Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 25 in Philadelphia
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornerstone Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornerstone Bed & Breakfast

Address: 3300 Baring St, Philadelphia, PA 19104-2529
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Philadelphia
Price Range: £148 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cornerstone Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Philadelphia's Cornerstone Bed and Breakfast, an elegant and cozy urban inn located within walking distance to the University of Pennsylvania, Drexel University, and the Philadelphia Museum of Art. Cornerstone offers a unique opportunity to enjoy Philadelphia with Center City only minutes away and easily accessible by public transportation. The Cornerstone offers the following amenities at no additional charge: *Wifi * Breakfast * Zoo Package *Eastern State Package * Street Parking * Toiletries The Cornerstone Bed and Breakfast is a family owned and operated business. We look forward to making your visit a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Cornerstone Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornerstone Bed And Breakfast
Cornerstone Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing