We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem of a bed and breakfast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Philadelphia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Silverstone Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 25 Philadelphia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Skippack, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A gem of a bed and breakfast”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

i had passed this magnificent old Chestnut Hill mansion countless times since childhood and, during a few days of home renovations, enjoyed its quiet elegance and midpoint convenience to home and work. The rooms were clean,comfortable and surprisingly quiet. Breakfasts were substantial and featured quality bakery fare. I asked owner, Yolanta, if I could share a few pictures along with my full endorsement of her lovely establishment that is convenient to Philadelphia and eastern Montgomery County.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    12
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
34
47
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape May, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2012

It is a great place to stay. Close to train to center city, great old style house with a period furniture, attitude and atmosphere. The beds are very comfortable, all aarangements meet the period the house was build ( late XIX century). Host are hospitable and helpfull. We were actually picked up from the airport, about half an hour drive. It is in located in Chesnut Hill which was a great out of the city area. The B&B arrangement is the best use for a little mansion. Great place to rest.
The breakfeast was big and served nicely.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank berczynski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Our stay at the Silverstone Bed and Breakfast was absolutely charming! It is located close to the city center, yet just far enough to "escape". The rooms are clean and well cared for, the beds are all "Tempra-Pedic" (which I had not tried before...great support!). Our hosts could not have been more gracious. A fantastic value, since a full, hot breakfast is included (not just a continental cold selection of foods).

Room Tip: We stayed in the Annex, and no one else was in that wing. Very private! Great choice for a family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ImaLumberjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

My husband read all reviews, did the research, and chose the The Silverstone B&B for my 60th birthday! He did a terrific job! The house is grand, clean, and furnished in gorgeous period antiques. Breakfast is both generous and delicious. Our hosts were gracious and sincerely friendly. We felt right at ease the moment we walked in!

Room Tip: Our room had windows on three sides, offering a view of the neighborhood and the yard below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abby58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Austin, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Silverstone B&B from November 16th through the 20, 2011. We were in Philadelphia for a family wedding. The B&B is absolutely beautiful, charming and exceeded our expectations! The owners of the B&B were wonderful and catered to our every need. Breakfast was served fresh each and every day. Delicious!!
Next time you're in Philly, treat yourself and stay at the Silverstone! You won't be sorry!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GMBradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We stayed at The Silverstone B&B on October 30 and 31st while visiting friends in West Mt Airy. We couldn't have been happier with our accommodations. We arrived at the B&B around 3:00pm and found a note on the front door to come in and make ourselves at home. We went upstairs to our room (the library) and we couldn't believe how spacious our room was, and the bathroom was huge too and had a big claw foot tub. After unpacking we went back downstairs to explore the house. The parlor, dining room and the kitchen. The house is decorated beautifully and the kitchen is equipped with everything you need to cook a meal. We really liked the fact that we could use the kitchen and even store stuff in the fridge. There is coffee and tea available all the time and we sure did take advantage of this amenity. WE LOVED THE GINGER AND LEMON TEA! The wireless internet access worked flawlessly and although we had our laptops with us there is a computer on the first floor for everyones use. On the first night we were going to go out to a restaurant and eat, but I suggested we go to the FABULOUS Chestnut Hill Cheese Shop and bring back a dinner time nosh. As always the cheese shop was loaded with our favorite items, pate, cheeses, crackers, bread and of course a heaping helping of excellent customer service. Anyway we brought all this stuff back to the B&B and because there was a kitchen we had plates, silverware, glasses, everything we needed, and there were even wine glasses (not knowing, we brought our own) too. We went back to the room and lit the candles that were in the fireplace and on the mantel and enjoyed a romantic evening nosh. While we were eating Yolanta (the owner) knocked on our door and introduced herself. She was very sweet and asked if we needed anything and what time we would be down for breakfast in the morning. After we finished eating we went downstairs and cleaned up our dishes and had a wonderful cup of tea (in our robes) in the parlor - there is always beautiful classical music playing softly and it is a really nice touch. After a restful nights sleep on the Temperpedic Mattress I went downstairs to bring coffee back to the room. It was early so there wasn't anyone else up. I put the coffee on and went to the parlor to read the paper while it brewed. Meanwhile, Charla (Yolantas helper) came in the backdoor to prepare breakfast. Charla introduced herself (she is very sweet) and I poured some coffee to take back to the room. We later came back down for a wonderful breakfast in the beautiful dining room at a table for two next to a big window that looked out on the grounds. Breakfast both mornings was delicious with omelets, toast, sausage, french toast, oj, almond milk, fresh fruit and more of that great coffee. We really enjoyed our stay here and felt so very comfortable, there is a relaxed atmosphere in the house which I haven't experienced at other B&B's. If you're staying in the Chestnut Hill area you really won't find anything as unique as this B&B. The owners and the helpers are charming and the location is excellent. Almost forgot... for Halloween, Yolanta decorated and put a big pumpkin full of candy on the parlor coffee table for all of her guests.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank richnterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenside
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Turn into the driveway at Silverstone and you will be reminded of why mansions like this were built. Unsurpassed elegance greets you outside only improved inside with architectural beauty. From my perspective the word charm in reviews usually means one has to be happy with outdated accommodations. The charm in this residence is based on fabulous upkeep of a historical gem. Have breakfast whatever you do. It's real and served in a stunning dining room. The innkeeper was not in residence when I was there but her staff, Renee and charla were so accommodating that a beat was not skipped. Also they spoke of her so beautifully that she must be wonderful too. The rooms are better than the website pictures. I stayed in the Library and stayed up late reading Shakespeare...a nice change from hotel maps. Oh and it's scrupulously clean and you can make tea and toast all day.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missamericaGlenside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Chestnut Hill
Chestnut Hill Hotel
Chestnut Hill Hotel
#12 of 85 in Philadelphia
436 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
1,293 reviews
Penn's View Hotel
#11 of 85 in Philadelphia
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manayunk
Manayunk Chambers Guest House
Manayunk Chambers Guest House
#5 of 25 in Philadelphia
57 reviews
City Center West
La Reserve Center City Bed and Breakfast
Germantown
Burbridge Street B&B
Burbridge Street B&B
#10 of 25 in Philadelphia
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silverstone Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverstone Bed & Breakfast

Property: Silverstone Bed & Breakfast
Address: 8840 Stenton Ave, Chestnut Hill, Philadelphia, PA 19118-2846
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing