We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than trees and gardens - a great outing”
Review of Morris Arboretum

Morris Arboretum
Ranked #35 of 450 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Morris Arboretum of the University of Pennsylvania is a historic public garden and educational institution. It promotes an understanding of the relationship between plants, people and place through programs that integrate science, art and the humanities.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“More than trees and gardens - a great outing”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

The Arboretum is a great place to spend a day! The gardens are absolutely beautiful - even in the dead of winter. The Out On a Limb exhibit is truly unique and great for kids. All the paths are paved and you can push a stroller around with ease. There's room on the grass for kids to run around and play and the old-growth trees are inspirational. All of the staff are extremely helpful and you'll leave feeling better than you came in.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank RPBenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    78
    15
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Magnificent!”
Reviewed 10 January 2012

If you appreciate magnificent landscaping and the beauty of an arboretum, take a day to wander through Morris Arboretum. If we could bring our dog, we'd be there every weekend.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank DebinPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful Gardens”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Went here on a perfect spring day and this place was perfect. The walk around is not too hard to do, so almost anyone can do it. Just an fyi, the greenhouse is hot, but was a great spot. The Bluejeanfoodcritic hopes to go back in 2012.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank bluejeanfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Absolutely Beautiful!”
Reviewed 7 January 2012

The gardens at Morris Arboretum, the official arboretum of the Commonwealth, is a jewel located on the edge of Philadelphia. The scenery is wonderful and well worth a visit. My wife and I enjoyed it so much we had our wedding there.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Gregory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“This beats the New York Botanical Gardens!”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Bought a membership to MA at a charity auction and we've gone a few times over the last 9 months, most recently with friends from Brooklyn. Even in the colder months, MA has some interesting things to offer and we've yet to see the whole facility. The tree house and trains are clearly the highlight for little ones, but the fern grotto and log cabin were entertaining for them as well. A treasure worthy of preserving!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Redwine4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Morris Arboretum also viewed

 

Been to Morris Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing