We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great nature place”
Review of Morris Arboretum

Morris Arboretum
Ranked #33 of 445 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Morris Arboretum of the University of Pennsylvania is a historic public garden and educational institution. It promotes an understanding of the relationship between plants, people and place through programs that integrate science, art and the humanities.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great nature place”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Well, i live around Philly since a month and since that i ttried to find this kind of place without succes. But i saw about this place in a train and decided to visit it..

That was really a good surprise, everything is nice, gardens, trees, little place and events, and it is huge not a little parc...

I recommend this place,..really nice

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    78
    14
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Any Season is the Best”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Morris is a delightful departure from the touristy stuff offered by Philadelphia and it's surrounds. It is beautiful from the driveway through the garden paths, and totally enjoyable from any vantage point along the way. The staff are exceptional folks and well-informed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank rightmind3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“beautiful place even in the early fall”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I'd hoped for more fall colour but it's only the beginning of October and so didn't really expect much. The trees, plantings and sculptures were delightful to walk around even though there was nothing special in bloom. The mix of Asian and American plantings was beautifully done and the tree house was a special treat.

Someone from a nearby property was blasting techo music which rather spoiled the serenity of the place but nobody is to blame.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank haifasharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place to Relax and Renew”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I have a membership here and I enjoy every visit. So much to see- I love the green house, it is relaxing to sit by the log cabin or in the spring house and the rose garden is a delight. Kids love the above the trees exhibit and special exhibits like the train. It is a relaxing place to read or journal if you go often. The cafe is reasonable but only open certain seasons, so check the website. It is also a wonderful place if you like photography. Wear your walking shoes.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Garbanzobean1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“More than just trees...”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Had a chance to visit the arboretum this summer with my nephews and niece and we all had a great time. Whether taking in the trees, the BUGS sculptures, the railway trains, or the tree tops exhibit, there was plenty to enjoy. We had great weather and it was a perfect day to be outside. Probably not a great bet if the weather is less than favorable.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 460andrewc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Morris Arboretum also viewed

 

Been to Morris Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing