We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Homewood Suites”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Homewood Suites University City
Ranked #31 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 24 October 2012

This newer Homewood is an excellent suite hotel in Philadelphia. The facility has used current "green" & up to date technology for its rooms. The beds are very comfortable which is important. Guests have use of an exercise room, pool and business center. The hotel provides a breakfast and midweek light suppers.The staff are great--capable, professional and certainly make guests feel welcome. The bonuses of this hotel include having the bus 21 from center city stop at the hotel entrance and the 21 bus is 1 block away for trips to center city and Philadelphia's fine attractions. The subway is 3 blocks away.One block away is the supermarket Fresh Grocer. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYTripper088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at Homewood Suites University City, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2012

Dear NYTripper088,

We are glad that you enjoyed all that we have to offer at the hotel. Thank you for including the staff in the positives, they really make the difference.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (698)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

669 - 675 of 698 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2012

Very nice hotel I was told it was only 6 months old but with the current staff I can see this hotel being nice for a very long time. First expression is the best expression the shuttle driver picked me up from the train station held the door for me then loaded my bag into the van the drive was very pleasant. Arrive to the hotel and was met by valet who also held the door and unloaded my bag escorted me to the front desk which was located on the third floor I was then helped by a very pleasant and helpful front desk staff. The rooms are clean with a very home like feel and I was able get some rest before going back out. My only complaint was the transformation of service with the pm staff the front desk staff was not at the front desk I waited 5 minutes to request transportation. the shuttle driver was a younger guy who did not get out to open the door and had headphones in his ear the entire ride. the female valet seemed to be a big distraction to him as she stood by the driver side door talking to him as I got into the van. I would stay at this hotel again but I would take care of any business with the am staff.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Latitia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at Homewood Suites University City, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2012

Dear Latitia R,

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Veru nice place , helpfull staff
Clean and modern ,
The vally parking is quite expensive..
I recommend it for both short and long stay..
..............................................................................................:.......:......

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cocoooonut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at Homewood Suites University City, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2012

Dear Cocoooonut,

Thanks for your comments. We are proud to be your first review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

A great location right across the street from the west end of UPenn. Easy walk to all of campus. Hotel is only 5 months old, all new, smells/looks new& clean. Very large rooms, nice kitchen area, all modern.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Very nice grocery store just one block away. Good for supplies.
Hotel has a few kinks to work out as a new building, gut the staff is doing well.
Breakfast was so-so, trying to make too fancy (southwest eggs, quiche, etc), need to have "just plain eggs" each day as an option.
We would definitely stay there again on our next trip to Penn.

Room Tip: South/East side rooms face Penn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rj_traveler_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at Homewood Suites University City, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2012

Dear rj_traveler_58,

Thank you for your positive review of your stay. We are glad you enjoyed your room and the staff. Some days I like plain eggs too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

This is a new and clean facility and everything is state of the art. From the keys to the carpets, to the LCD screens. The Lobby is not in the ground floor. It is very conveniently located for people visiting Penn's Ivy League Campus and close to most of the on campus shopping, dining and entertainment. They have nice Penn inspired details, photos and decor yet it is not as kitschy as the Inn at Penn which is "too Penn". Breakfast is good but not excellent. In our case the scrambled eggs were baked and dry. The make it yourself waffles were good. Believe it or not, its valet parking is competitive with the nearby University facility. The hotel is clustered around renovated townhomes and apartments suited for off campus housing of students. It has a swimming pool and great internet connection. The staff is quite accommodating. When we arrived they did not have the room we requested and gave us one that was not made up. They apologized and took care of us by giving us a better room. That was nice. The beds were the most comfortable I have slept in for quite a while.

Room Tip: Get a room with a look towards Penn's campus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ViajeroESQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at Homewood Suites University City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2012

Dear ViajeroESQ,

Thank you for the positive review of your stay. We are happy that you enjoyed the area and amenitities that we offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Excellent hotel, excellent service, excellent location. Harvest Seasonal Grill & Wine Bar restaurant close by which is one of the great restaurant in Philly and you get Capogiro Gelato a block away. You cannot get any better that this. Book with no hesitation.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at Homewood Suites University City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2012

Dear Sonia H,

Thank you for the positive comments on the hotel, the service and our location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

I stayed here on business. I was able to walk to the hospital from the hotel, the staff could not be more accommodating. I just looked at the pool and hot tub, which looked quite nice. Gym was large and modern. I had the complimentary dinner which was nice and convenient. Spacious rooms. My only complaint was the price for the hotel and the parking.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenNEU03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at Homewood Suites University City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2012

Dear JenNEU03,

We are happy that you enjoyed the staff, the food and the fitness center. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
University City
Hilton Inn at Penn
Hilton Inn at Penn
#3 of 88 in Philadelphia
1,452 reviews
University City
AKA University City
AKA University City
#60 of 88 in Philadelphia
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites University City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites University City

Address: 4109 Walnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19104-3510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range: £101 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites University City 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The suites in our brand-new University City property come in studio and one-bedroom sizes, all with top amenities and modern, attractive decor. Each suite includes a full kitchen with a refrigerator, microwave and twin-burner stove, and features separate living and sleeping areas with all the comforts of home and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Homewood Suites University City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing