We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Philly Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Homewood Suites University City
Ranked #25 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tucson, United States
2 reviews
“Philly Trip”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Great hotel and location, but no free parking. Also, loading and unloading can be a bit of a challenge as it slopes downhill. But overall great place, free hot breakfast, had free hot dinners. Quiet. Restaurants nearby. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    197
    43
    34
    19
See reviews for
305
73
33
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hobe Sound, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I stayed here to be located near a hospital during my husband's procedure. It is a great location and easy to find. This is a second Homewood Suites I've stayed at. The suite was perfect. The lite meal wasn't. Pizza the first night and hot dogs the second. I had to walk to get food the second night after a long day at the hospital. The area is safe.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank pab931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Very nice hotel and good rates. Parking was convenient. Good restruants close to the hotel. 200 characters is too many. I don't want to write a book! I don't like this review requirement. mmm mm mmb mm nn nn nn yy yy hh hh hh hmm hmm hmm.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Needed something close to Penn Medicine. Location was excellent with grocery store and pharmacy less than a 5 minute walk away. Rooms were excellent, well equipped and comfortably accommodated 3 adults and a 2 yo. Great having your own kitchen. Staff were fantastic as we had a few problems with the Expedia booking. They worked hard over three staff shifts to ensure we had a good stay. Overall, a great experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at Homewood Suites University City, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Karen S,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am happy to hear that our staff was able to help you through your booking difficulties.

Sincerely,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed 21 November 2013

this hotel was close to the university of Penn. The rooms were clean. They provided a shuttle service in the area and to local restaurants. The staff were helpful and friendly. They include a hot breakfast everyday. Assisted us with transportation to the airport.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank iowagirl1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Excellent hotel central to the city and CHOP. The hotel was extremly accomodating to our needs. The hotel is state of art with automated controls central to the bed side via a tablet! Excellent food of all kinds close by with a shuttle service to take you almost anywhere you need to go. Very professional staff on hand!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This was my second stay at this hotel in the heart of the University of Pennsylvania and I was very satisfied. Would stay here again in a heartbeat -- very convenient location, excellent service and well-appointed guestrooms.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Carla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at Homewood Suites University City, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Carla M,

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you have experienced the hotel more than once. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
University City
Hilton Inn at Penn
Hilton Inn at Penn
#3 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,366 reviews
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University City
AKA University City
AKA University City
#65 of 86 in Philadelphia
11 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites University City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites University City

Property: Homewood Suites University City
Address: 4109 Walnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19104-3510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites University City 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The suites in our brand-new University City property come in studio and one-bedroom sizes, all with top amenities and modern, attractive decor. Each suite includes a full kitchen with a refrigerator, microwave and twin-burner stove, and features separate living and sleeping areas with all the comforts of home and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Homewood Suites University City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing