We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Homewood Suites University City
Ranked #31 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The location of this hotel, near to Penn Med Presby Center, was the reason I chose this hotel. I was there during a snow storm in January 2014 and the shuttle service was a blessing. The drivers were on time in the morning and evening and were very kind and safe drivers. All the staff were very helpful. The suite was clean and met all our needs.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Diane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (712)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

562 - 568 of 712 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

While navigating the Schuylkill Expressway entering Philadelphia, I received a phone call from The Hampton Inn Centre City that my room was no longer available. This after I confirmed the evening prior and my manager leaving his bags at the hotel this morning. I'd blast the Hampton Inn now but TripAdvisor does not allow reviews within 3 months of a prior stay; stay tuned.

Homewood Suites is 3 miles to the PA Convention Centre where I was working The Philadelphia Home Show, the Hampton Inn is 1 block. Homewood Suites is designed for putting up parents visiting their children attending the University of Pennsylvania, and it's just about perfect for that mission. The room is large with a bedroom separate for the kitchen and sitting room. A full sized refrigerator, cook-top, microwave and coffee maker are provided. A great grocery store is less than a block away as are many places to eat. If you want to be in Centre City, you'll have to drive, cab or be able to run like heck.

The staff was extremely helpful, professional and friendly.

By the way, the Hampton Inn did pay for my room and parking which will reduce my rant when the opportunity arrives.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jholahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Stayed here for several nights with someone in a wheelchair. It was almost impossible to open the extremely heavy door and navigate a wheelchair into the room and around the room. Guest services said all the room doors were extremely heavy.

Room Tip: Nice indoor pool and fitness center
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank junec51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at Homewood Suites University City, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear junec51,

I want to apologize for the unfortunate experience that you had at our hotel. The health and safety of our guests is of the utmost importance. We have reviewed your comments with our staff and we would be glad to help you with opening and holding the doors for you when you are here next.

Sincerely,

Paul DiNapoli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Smack dab in the middle of the U of P campus and nearby U of P Hospital. Hotel
shuttle services the University City area which includes the Septa train station to and from center city and beyond.

All good, but would love to draw attention to the after hours entry system. At door, there are no signs, however it would be nice if a sign directed you to the voice box to the left of the door frame to speak with the front desk in order to gain remote access. The lobby, on the 3rd floor is accessed by elevator. But c'mon guys....what's up with no signage?

After the check in, most courteous and efficient, my stay was pleasant. Room was decked out as expected, quiet and very clean and attractive. Breakfast room was warm and sunny, staff were again courteous and efficient, and the breakfast choices were more than expected. Hot and cold buffet included with rate. A nice respite from the sub zero temps which were on the outside.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanS609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Great value for money. Completely satisfied. I really have nothing else I want to say but I cannot post a review without a miniumum 200 characters, so now I am just writing something for the sake of it. Thank you for wasting my time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
1  Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Our suite consisted of a small living room/kitchen area with pull out sofa bed and flat screen and a bedroom with a king. We had the most fun with the bedside tablet which can control all the suites features - lighting, climate, music, nature sleep sounds - except TV, along with a headline news feed. The hot buffet breakfast offered eggs, sausages, and potatoes along with the usuals.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANNAMARGARET B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at Homewood Suites University City, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear AnnaMargaret,

I want to thank you for your review of the hotel. Our guests do enjoy the comfort of not having to move to control the lights and temperature.

Sincerley,

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Staff were friendly. The pool was great for our 3 and 5 year old The gym was nice as well. Parking 40 dollars a night was steep, didn't have time to look for other options. Fresh market right down the Street with lots of options for fresh food . Beer store was only 2 blocks away. Restaurants in walking distance was nice. Overall decent place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
University City
Hilton Inn at Penn
Hilton Inn at Penn
#4 of 88 in Philadelphia
1,477 reviews
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites University City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites University City

Address: 4109 Walnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19104-3510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range: £111 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites University City 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The suites in our brand-new University City property come in studio and one-bedroom sizes, all with top amenities and modern, attractive decor. Each suite includes a full kitchen with a refrigerator, microwave and twin-burner stove, and features separate living and sleeping areas with all the comforts of home and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Homewood Suites University City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing