We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but could be perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homewood Suites University City
Ranked #24 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Philadelphia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good but could be perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

This hotel is very clean and the staff is friendly. My only disappointment is the manager has the say on whether the hotel participates in the bonus points programs giving guests more points on their HHonors account. I have stayed there twice for 8 nights both times this year and the first stay I received bonus points and the second time I did not. Calling HHonors they advised this hotel did not participate in the latest promotion. When asked why they didn't know but it was up the the manager and his discretion. That is a whole mess of points left out there that we cannot enjoy later. Very disappointing. Please fix this for the future. Thank you

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    192
    38
    30
    16
See reviews for
286
68
28
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Nice hotel. Clean, comfortable. Very efficient check in and out procedures. Overall a pleasure to stay there. Really makes you feel like you are at home rather than a hotel. I would definitely stay here again if the occasion came up.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Marissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at Homewood Suites University City, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Marissa L,

We are happy that you feel this is your home away from home. Look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strasburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Our family stays here when my daughter is in Children's hospital. The rooms are clean and have everything you need. Love the kitchen in the suite. Breakfast in the morning is standard fare but fills you up before heading out for the day. Love the shuttle service to the hospital which makes an already difficult circumstance a little easier.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank masttrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stay at this Hilton during our annual trip to Philadelphia and the stay, service and value can't be beat. The location is great, too! We are within a lot of restaurants, a movie theater, and a grocery store. The valet service is fantastic and we got some good use out of the complimentary wireless internet service.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at Homewood Suites University City, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Rachel B,

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you next year on your annual trip to Philly.

Sincerely,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

The hotel lobby was modern and quite nice. Unfortunately there was an entire tray of someone's lunch or dinner spilled out onto the floor, and noone attended to it for at least the half hour that I was in and around the lobby that afternoon. The appliances in the kitchen were terrific, the suite was spacious and confortable The modern heating apparatus worked quite well. The pool and gym were really nice. I was told about a parking garage around the corner, but when we arrived a valet parking attendent, suggested that we needed to use his service in order to park Since I knew better, I refused his service and instead parked in the parking garage around the corner.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank stevep406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

shuttle pick up service may be upgraded a bit. else it was fine. the concept of breakfast and dinner is good but vegeterian options were quite limited. some extra options for healthy food and veg options will be good idea

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Krishan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at Homewood Suites University City, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Krishan K,

Thank you for your review of the Homewood Suites. We value your opinion of our services and hope to include more meal options in the future.

Sincerely,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHL, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

The valet was rude and should be taught a little manners and how to deal with people. I not only experienced this myself but witnessed several other encountering the same type of treatment. Otherwise the stay was good overall and the location was perfect for what I needed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at Homewood Suites University City, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Joseph B,

Thank you for your comments and you response to our email regarding your experience with the valet. We will avoid the confusion with the parking in the future. Hope to see you on your next stay.

Sincerely,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
University City
Hilton Inn at Penn
Hilton Inn at Penn
#5 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University City
AKA University City
AKA University City
#65 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites University City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites University City

Property: Homewood Suites University City
Address: 4109 Walnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19104-3510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites University City 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The suites in our brand-new University City property come in studio and one-bedroom sizes, all with top amenities and modern, attractive decor. Each suite includes a full kitchen with a refrigerator, microwave and twin-burner stove, and features separate living and sleeping areas with all the comforts of home and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites University City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing