We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homewood Suites University City
Ranked #29 of 87 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The staff at this location are by far the best I have encountered in my work travels. They go out of their way to ensure you have the best possible experience. Since it is no fun being away from home due to work, it is much appreciated to have hotel staff that do the best they can to ensure you have an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
1  Thank Timothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at Homewood Suites University City, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Timothy P,

Thank you for your 2nd great review of our hotel. We believe that our staff is our greatest asset.

Sincerely,

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (679)
There are newer reviews for Homewood Suites University City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

478 - 484 of 679 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

The most important thing to me about any hotel is cleanliness and this Homewood Suites was clean in all areas. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel or stay there again in a heartbeat! Also lovely views of Philly from upper rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank LiseFallsChurch_Va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Very nice and safe hotel at Penn. Parking is valet only. You drop off your car at street level and then must use your room key to access the elevators to get to the hotel on the 3rd floor. Breakfast and dinner were included. Traffic was always congested in the area so walking maybe preferred.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlamingoAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Anyone looking for a high quality hotel while staying in the Philadelphia area I would highly suggest you check this one out. It was amazing in all catagories. AAAAA+ rating from this family.
Customer service was outstanding and staff was very courteous and pleasant,they went out of their way to insure our stay was a delightful one .Rooms were very clean and lots of space. Free shuttle service and complimentary breakfast and dinner were a extra bonus. I would highly suggest this hotel!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank js82361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at Homewood Suites University City, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear js82361,

Thank you for your review. We are excited that your stay was a great one.

Sincerely,

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at Homewood Suites in University City for three nights for our daughter's Upenn graduation. We were extremely pleased with the experience. The room was great-spacious and clean. The service was excellent. Not only was there free breakfast, but the dining room was open all day with free coffee and provided a nice place for us to sit as an extended family and eat takeout. This is a much better hotel than you would expect from a homewood suites. My only two minor complaints are-1. no in room safe; and 2. neighborhood is a little iffy. But for the purposes of visiting Penn, especially with a family, it simply cannot be beat!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca60745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We had origionally booked another hotel for a wedding but that hotel told us a month before the wedding that they where going to renovate and we could no longer stay there. We called the Homewood suites and they where supper helpful. They got us a block of 40 rooms to a good group rate only a month in advance, and the wedding was labor day weekend! The hotel was super fresh apart from some parts of the room looked like it could use some touch ups like a new coat of paint. Super comfortable beds, helpful staff and a quite good location. Would totally recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank l0visac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at Homewood Suites University City, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear l0visac,

Thank you for your review. We were happy to help your wedding group and make it a special day.

Sincerely,

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

First stay at a Homewood Suites. I will definitely book at another one. Beds were very comfortable, well laid out suite, valets were extremely proficient and staff was friendly. Only problem I had was that the cleaning service didn't show up until after I returned for the day. I was on gov't rate so it was value.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
University City
Hilton Inn at Penn
Hilton Inn at Penn
#3 of 87 in Philadelphia
1,397 reviews
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University City
AKA University City
AKA University City
#62 of 87 in Philadelphia
17 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 87 in Philadelphia
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites University City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites University City

Address: 4109 Walnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19104-3510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 87 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range: £114 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites University City 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The suites in our brand-new University City property come in studio and one-bedroom sizes, all with top amenities and modern, attractive decor. Each suite includes a full kitchen with a refrigerator, microwave and twin-burner stove, and features separate living and sleeping areas with all the comforts of home and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites University City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing