We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel terrible parking” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites University City

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Homewood Suites University City
Ranked #24 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel terrible parking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stay was for two weeks, room wasn't cleaned on three or four occassions, no wash clothes for several days, bar of soap was only provided on first day of stay. Parking in the area of the hotel is horrendous and the hotel takes advantage of this by charging 40.00 for use of hotel parking. On some occasions we had to park blocks from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Edward F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    187
    38
    29
    16
See reviews for
281
64
27
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We were in town for an all weekend track invitational at Widener University with teenagers. The area of the hotel was very convenient and had many amenities within walking distance which was preceived very well from the kids. The staff was very attentive and the room was very comfortable. Loved our Stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jodi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a conference and was there for 4 nights. The Homewood Suites are great for longer business travel - they feel like home - with a living room and a full kitchen. This hotel did not disappoint. The bed was VERY comfortable and it appeared pretty clean.

I was a little disappointed that I had to call the front desk a few times to get some extra towels brought up - there were no hand towels in the bathroom when I arrived. But they did finally bring them. I did feel like the housekeeping wasn't on their best game for some of the days I was there. After calling the first day for the extra towels, I always got new towels and the bed made but they didn't always vacuum. And on my last day as I was checking the couch for the contents of my purse which spilled, I found a HUGE chunk of hair. That was horrifying and I was glad I was about to check out because if I'd seen it on the first day, I would've been a lot more critical. Yuck.

The hotel breakfast is very good. I was really pleased with that. The valet staff was also excellent - especially Zach who was very helpful with directions and recommendations. The hotel is great proximity to Penn and within an easy walking distance of a lot of great restaurants in University City but not right in the mix, so it seemed a little quieter. It was also only a few minutes drive to the Old City/City Center areas which made it nice for sight seeing.

Overall, I would certainly recommend it. And would stay at a Homewoods Suites for any type of travel - business or pleasure - of more than a few nights.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank murphytravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

My brother, my mother and I decided to book this hotel for its closeness to the University of Pennsylvania hospital, as we travelled to Philadelphia from Italy for a treatment at Penn.

From the moment we arrived at the hotel, we were very much disappointed.
First of all, the room was very dirty and there was a bad smell in the room.
The couch in the living room that turns into a bed for the third person was not ready and when we opened it on our own the space was so limited that we could not even walk.
We went down to the reception desk and asked to change room, as the frowziness of the room made us feel uncomfortable to stay there. Maybe we had not been "lucky"?

The new room was not better: the bad smell was even worse as we found the trash can still full from the previous guests. Moreover again the couch for the third person had not been prepared yet and when we called the housekeeping to make it, when they opened it we all found out that there were still the bed linens from the previous guests.
The dishwasher was still full of glasses, dishes and more (we do not know if still dirty) and in the room there was dust everywhere.

We wanted a self catering accommodation and that's why we booked a suite with kitchen. The equipment was very minimal and poor, there were not even enough flatware for 3 people to eat and two chairs in total, so one of us had to eat sit on the open couch.

The air conditioning in the living room was not working and this was not the best considering the heat, the bad smell and the fact that it was not possible to open any window in the room.

The first morning we tried the breakfast and from the next day we decided to provide the food for our following breakfasts on our own. Poor selection of foods and very bad quality.
We never tried the dinner, as we thought we had experienced enough.

All the above reasons made our stay at the Homewood a real nightmare. As told, we are in Philadelphia for medical reasons and this was the worst start we could have, overall considering that my brother is sick and needed to stay in a comfortable and clean place. And we had informed the hotel about this at the moment of our booking.
The only positive thing we can say about this hotel is the shuttle bus service to the Penn hospital, that is available everyday every half an hour and that is very efficient.

For sure we would never return here nor we would suggest it to anyone we know. We would never have expected such a bad experience from a Hilton and considering the very high rate we paid for.

Room Tip: The Suite with one bedroom and couch in the living room is not at all comfortable for 3 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Francesca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at Homewood Suites University City, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Francesca T,

We’re sorry we didn’t provide the high quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we have addressed the issues you mentioned. We try to make each guest experience a great one at our hotel and your satisfaction is important to us. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you’ll give us another opportunity soon to make your stay the best it can be.

Sincerely,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We are in Philadelphia 2-3 times per year to visit one if the hospitals. Although this hotel isn't the closest, it is the best in price, amenities, & meeting our needs. They have a shuttle that takes you to several different hospitals, free breakfast and dinner (M-F), indoor pool & jacuzzi, nice work out room, and a full kitchen in each room. The staff has always been very nice and never gives us a hard time when we've had to check out earlier than planned. Also, the Fresh Grocer store is just down the street and has anything you'd need. We've tried a lot of their deli foods too- very good) It's also close to a movie theater, a McDonalds, and several other restaurants...
This is a fabulous place to stay, we recommend it to everyone

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevandme96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at Homewood Suites University City, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Kevandme96,

We are glad that you were able to take advantage of all that we offer when you are in Philadelphia. Thank you for recommending us to all.

Sincerely,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Very clean and accomodating. The staff was very friendly and the room was superb. I enjoyed all aspects and was surprised how modern and Smart this hotel was. I was able to walk around and also enjoy unique dinner restaurants. It is a walkable location and given the universities in the area, very safe.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Stefan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We were only there for an overnight medical-related trip, and didn't arrive until 10:00pm, so we didn't have time to enjoy any of the facilities. The staff was very courteous and friendly, and the bed was very comfortable. We did enjoy the complementary breakfast the next morning before we left.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank K2073VGdonnab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
University City
Hilton Inn at Penn
Hilton Inn at Penn
#5 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
University City
AKA University City
AKA University City
#64 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites University City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites University City

Property: Homewood Suites University City
Address: 4109 Walnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites University City 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The suites in our brand-new University City property come in studio and one-bedroom sizes, all with top amenities and modern, attractive decor. Each suite includes a full kitchen with a refrigerator, microwave and twin-burner stove, and features separate living and sleeping areas with all the comforts of home and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Homewood Suites University City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing