We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two families with six children all under 13.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Homewood Suites University City
Ranked #28 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed here in mid july on a brief 2 day 2 night stay and had a wonderful time. Staff were very courteous and friendly and recommended a thai restaurant 2 blocks away that was fantastic. Entire Hotel was clean and accommodating. Staff also assisted us in getting to the nearest subway station for the very easy 5 minute ride to center city. As this Hotel seems to provide a welcomed place for the many who need to stay close to the nearby medical facilities, it staff seemed very warm and caring beyond the normal expectations of a city based Hotel. I don't know if you hire well or train well but your doing a good job. One negative for us was the $39 a night parking fee. While it would not stop us from a special get away like we recently had, we would be reluctant to take a quick get away for a weekend (We are only two hours from Philly) with our two children as our two nights ending up being over $600 with the parking fees.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank thankfulnewburghNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (692)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

466 - 472 of 692 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

Very friendly staff, excellent accommodations, very comfortable bed and free breakfast all very conveniently located near University City in Philadelphia. The workout facilities were well maintained and included an indoor pool and hot tub.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Douglas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at Homewood Suites University City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Douglas J,

Thank you for your positive comments on the hotel. I am glad you were able to enjoy all we had to offer.

Sincerely,

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Coming to Philly for a 3 day business trip. The location is perfect for where I conducted the business. With complimentary breakfast and dinner, I could leave a couple of things off my schedule. It's a good choice for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Yu-Jiang Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Rooms were beyond expectations. Complimentary dinner on weekdays was unexpected and the quality of the meal was excellent. Excellent for family as the kitchen was very nice with full size refrigerator. We were however not happy with the $39 cost per night for parking.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This hotel was in a great location, close to both UPenn and Drexel. The staff was friendly and helpful. It was hard to believe it was a Homewood Suites and not a higher end hotel. Clean and very modern. We loved our stay and look forward to returning in the future

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Maura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

For the price, the place is a poor choice if you need to stay more than a day. Unfortunately anyone who needs to stay close to University City in Philly has few choices. I was lucky to complete my personal business in a 1 night stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
4  Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at Homewood Suites University City, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Bob W,

Thank you for staying with us at our hotel. We appreciate your candid review of our property. New perspectives about our hotel help us make improvements to our guest experience on an ongoing basis. Please share any additional comments or suggestions with us any time.

Sincerely,

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I stayed for 2 nights with my two teens. Location is great if you're visiting Penn.. Safe, clean. We had one bedroom with pullout sofa in l. room. L. room was like a tiny, dark, dark cave.No window, very minimal lighting.l Hotel is more interested in conserving energy than in guest comfort. "Energy efficient" lighting system -light switches are some type of simmer device, but challenging to use consistently. Would try Sheraton next time for comparison.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Texascarmain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
University City
Hilton Inn at Penn
Hilton Inn at Penn
#4 of 88 in Philadelphia
1,436 reviews
University City
AKA University City
AKA University City
#63 of 88 in Philadelphia
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites University City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites University City

Address: 4109 Walnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19104-3510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range: £108 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites University City 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The suites in our brand-new University City property come in studio and one-bedroom sizes, all with top amenities and modern, attractive decor. Each suite includes a full kitchen with a refrigerator, microwave and twin-burner stove, and features separate living and sleeping areas with all the comforts of home and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Homewood Suites University City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing