We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experience at Hotel Monaco”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia
Ranked #4 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 31 March 2013

My family and in-laws stayed at the Kimpton Monaco Hotel for 3 days. We were able to get an adjoining room with an excellent view of Independence Hall. The rooms were very clean and quite comfortable. The service in the hotel was excellent as each employee thought of himself/herself as the owner of a family business. If there was an issue, the employees became good problem solvers. This is a hotel that will get reup business and it certainly appealed to families who wanted to bring their dogs along. The 5pm free wine in the lobby was also a treat.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steven41003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Thanks Steven41003!

Happy to see that both your family and the in-laws enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for staying with us and for the 5 stars.

Come back and see us again soon.

Cheers,

Sean Flanigan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,680)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,288 - 2,294 of 2,680 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my husband, daughter (9), and two dogs (35 lbs each). The staff were warm and helpful. Most requests were fulfilled promptly. We stayed in a queen parkview room and it had ample room for us all. View is awesome and you cannot beat the location! There is a park right across the street from the hotel for my dogs to explore and there were many great restaurants within walking distance. Based on the this experience, I will seek out other Kimpton properties when traveling.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CassieR62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Dear CassieR62,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. I am happy to see that you and your fam enjoyed your trip to Philly and the Monaco.

We hope to see you on your next trip to the City of Brotherly Love!

Best,

Sean Flanigan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

First off, I love Kimpton Hotels. I am very disappointed when I must go someplace and there is not a Kimpton Hotel. Hint Hint - Montreal, Canada.

My stay at the Monaco was the best. Rashid provided me that best service and an amazing tip - Check out the rooftop lounge early, because it really gets busy. I live for this hotel and the staff. It has to be one of the best I've stayed in so far. The living room is beautiful and big. The rooms are beautiful colors, with bathrooms with amazingly large showers and great water pressure. I loved all the mirrors throughout the hotel. The rooftop lounge, I wish we had this in DC, was crazy fab - the vapor room was my favorite. I am not a big meat eater but still really enjoyed the food at Red Owl Tavern, the hotel's restaurant. I will certainly make it a point to stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: I stayed in a King room and it was an ok size, which is expected for staying in the city. I was on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cocogold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Thanks Cocogold!!

WOW 5 stars thank you so much. You rock!! I am so excited to read about how much you love Kimpton and the Monaco. Roshid is an amazing person and truly is an asset to the team, I will be sure to thank him personally.

I look forward to welcoming you back. Maybe someday there will be a Kimpton in Montreal AY?

Cheers,

Sean Flanigan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

I am an avid fan of Kimpton hotels. The Hotel Monaco is a beautiful new property in a great location. The staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are lovely and spacious and the whole place is a stone's throw from the liberty bell in the historic Old City neighborhood. There are tons of great restaurants within walking distance. Having tried several hotels in Philly, this one was the best. Will definitely stay here again in the future and would easily recommend to others.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
Thank Katiegirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Hey Katiegirl77!

Wonderful experience for a wonderful guest! Sounds like the perfect match to me.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for the kind comments.

Come back and see us again soon.

Cheers,

Sean Flanigan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Just got back from a wonderful 5-day stay at the Monaco in Philadelphia. From check-in to check-out, our stay was fabulous. We brought our dog and were given a 2nd floor pet-friendly room with a view of Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell building (you can't see the bell inside). Even though we were only the 2nd floor, we could not hear the traffic below. The housekeeping staff were awesome and loved our dog.
We started most mornings at the Red Owl Tavern in the hotel or one block over at the Cosi and ended each day at wine hour (well, my husband would sit in the Red Owl and I would go to wine hour). It is nice to talk with different people every day.
Getting around the hotel was easy as there were plenty of elevators. The gym on the 2nd floor was well-equipped, clean, and modern - it felt like a real fitness center.
My husband and I both used the free Wi-Fi (as In-Touch members) everyday. The connection was fast and easy to connect. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to enjoy Philly's historic sites.

Room Tip: Low floor did not have traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwbts124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Dear Kwbts124,

Sounds like you, your husband, and 4 legged friend had a grand ole time! Thank you for the wonderful comments.

We miss you guys already!

Cheers,

Sean Flanigan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

My husband stayed here recently for one night as a mini getaway. We could not have been happier! The hotel staff was amazing. All we had to do was look a little confused and there was a staff member there to give instant answers. The decor was eclectic and fun, including the rooms. Don't miss the wine happy hour either. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Awwww thanks Chris B!

We love you guys too! Perhaps it was love at first sight? I am thrilled that you had such a great experience! The team here is so passionate about serving our guests and it truly shows when we hear stories like yours.

Can’t wait to welcome you guys back!

Best,

Sean Flanigan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

I stayed for two nights with my two children on a mini-vacation. Great decor, free coffee in the a.m., free wine in the evening. My daughter deemed the bed "a cloud" and actually looked forward to curling up and going to sleep each night. My son has disabilities, and the staff made sure we had everything we needed during our stay, even the USA Today outside our door each morning as he requested. Special thanks to T and Roshid; they went the extra mile to make us feel welcome. I will be recommending the Monaco to our out-of-town guests.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Independence Hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boxcarmillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean F, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Thank you Boxcarmillie!!

I am so happy to see you and kids enjoyed your trip and we made you feel comfortable. T and Roshid are certainly rock stars and I will be sure to give them a couple high fives for providing such wonderful service and going the extra mile.

Come back soon!

Best,

Sean Flanigan
Director of High Fives

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 88 in Philadelphia
815 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 88 in Philadelphia
3,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia

Address: 433 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2426 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range: £145 - £483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing