We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smart new arrival” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia
Ranked #3 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
245 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Smart new arrival”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

This brand new neat hotel is across the street from Independence Hall - the prime Old City location. It offers the usual well-designed Kimpton chic in a classy old building. The decor is modern and bold; huge yellow flowers on a dark blue carpet in our room. Electronic pillar candles, lots of nice design touches, Etro toiletries, red lacquer commode, funky bathroom. Shirts cost $7.95 to be laundered. The comfortable Living Room offers complimentary coffee/tea in the mornings and a glass of wine early evenings. The background music there was a bit too loud for easy conversation but the staff happily turned it down when asked. There is a trendy/noisy rooftop bar - with no view of Independence Hall?? The Red Owl tavern's decor is entirely out of keeping with the rest of the hotel and the drinks are expensive.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Camwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick_GM_Monaco_PHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Hi Camwas,

Thanks for taking the opportunity to share your stay with us. Unfortunately, being a historic building our hands were tied in regards to the building structure, but the atmosphere of the rooftop lounge and being 11 floors up, more than makes up for it. Ave, our Kimpton desginer, really did an amazing job with this hotel.

Cheers,
Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,758
    469
    129
    45
    21
See reviews for
573
890
92
436
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (753)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
u.s.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

Another top notch Kimpton property located in the heart of. Independent Square. Great staff. Unique dining. Valet parking. Rooms are clean, comfortable and well stocked. Online last minute rates available.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vito711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick_GM_Monaco_PHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Thanks for the love Vito! Come back and visit us soon!

Safe travels,
NIck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Took my 13 year old to Philadelphia for a birthday trip and we could not have asked for a better place to stay. She loved being able to see Independence Hall from our window. I loved the quiet and comfort of our room. Best part of the trip for my daughter was finding a surprise piece of chocolate birthday cake in our room after being out touring (arranged by the concierge unbeknownst to me). The staff was friendly from the front door to the housekeeping staff. I highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Great views on Park side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick_GM_Monaco_PHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Hi James,

Sounds like you and your daughter had an awesome weekend. Thank you for letting our team be part of the memory!

Best Wishes!
Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

I doubt we'd stay here for $300+ a night, but a Kimpton In Touch deal turned up and was terrific value for money. The decor of the hotel is so over the top you have to either consent or dissociate. I did a bit of both. Our room on the 9th floor was gorgeous: large, sumptuous, lovely bed and appointments, appealing view. We didn't eat at Red Owl Tavern (mixed online reviews) and it's not super easy to eat around here unless you go down to Chestnut and 7th. We ate at four restaurants around there, all good in their own way; best meal goes to Chifa. The Bourse would have been good for food during the day. It's great to be close to the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall etc. Staff were cordial, helpful when I locked myself out of my room, nothing was a trouble. There's a really nice feeling to this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melissa_hardie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick_GM_Monaco_PHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Hey Melissa!

Thanks for the great review. I'll see what I can do about keeping those InTouch specials alive!

Cheers,
Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

Found this hotel by accident through Hotwire. Loved my stay so much, that I booked my latest Philly business trip too. I took my wife and daughter too because I thought they would enjoy this cool hotel. Great experience.

Room Tip: Try their roof top bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ctwoodring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick_GM_Monaco_PHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
What an awesome accident! Can't wait to hear what your wife and daughter think of the Monaco. Let us know if we can help score you some points!

Thanks for the love!
Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

My wife and I loved this hotel. It's the perfect combination of style, service and affordable price. But what sets it apart from other great phili hotels is the great location. We had a view overlooking Independence Hall that was spectacular.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kentkleiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick_GM_Monaco_PHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Hi Kent,

We agree you can't get any better than 5th and Chestnut! Happy to hear that you and your wife had such a great time with us!

Come back soon,
Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basalt, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

We spent a night in the Hotel Monaco in Philadelphia a couple of days after spending a night in the giant Marriott in the city. The experiences were vasty different. The Marriott was everything a typical that you would expect in a nice huge hotel. The Monaco was pleasing to the senses from the moment you walked in the door. The hotel was hoppin (not always what we are looking for) but the staff was on it, helpful, paid attention to the guest even with all the activity. The room was interesting and so comfortable. I love the different Kimpton property personalities. Our room was fairly quiet. The hotel location lends itself to wandering around and exploring. Great place to stay if you want both service and personality!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pamsweber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick_GM_Monaco_PHL, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Hey Pam,
I love the way you described the Monaco as pleasing to the senses. In my book, that is one of the most difficult things to achieve, but when done right its the most rewarding to our guests.

Thanks for taking th time to share!
Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,154 reviews
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia
Address: 433 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2426 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing