We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty Much Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia
Ranked #3 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Long Beach, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Pretty Much Perfect”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Everything is great about this hotel. The location is ideal, the customer service is awesome, and it is definitely one of the most nicely decorated hotels I have ever been to! I took a million pictures because I was so intrigued by the colors and kitschy decor, this is the best place to stay in Philly.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HusnaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica L, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
I'm so happy to see you had a great experience at the hotel. Its true, everywhere you look there is something else that catches your eye.

Thanks for the love!
Jessica

Jessica Lavin
Hotel Manager
jessica.lavin@hotelmonaco.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,797
    481
    134
    50
    22
See reviews for
593
908
94
446
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (773)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I go to the Monaco a couple times a year for business. We stay and meet in the hotel. The meeting rooms are good, nothing fancy. Catering for breakfast and snacks is great, the food is good and plentiful. Lunch was not good. The sandwiches were tiny and came with one bag of chips and an apple or banana. We were laughing at them. The staff who helped us with catering, however, were fantastic and responsive when we requested more water or lemons for tea, etc. They also did a great job of keeping the room tidy and removing trash quickly.

For the hotel, the rooms are on the small side but I find the decor whimsical and fun. The bed is so comfortable! I always sleep well here.

The staff is friendly & helpful. In particular, T & Darnell at the door are always friendly. They went out of their way to provide excellent service and I appreciated the personal touch. They even remembered my name! Hope to see them the next time I have a meeting in Philly.

A couple tips - sign up for the "in touch" program on the hotel website. You can get free wi-fi throughout your stay. It also gets you a $10 raid the mini bar card. You can also request they bring a goldfish to your room which is something I love, as I have fish at home...just an added touch that you don't see at most hotels.

Room Tip: The park view is nice if you can get it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMacMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica L, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Clearly you know that our staff is our best feature. They are all amazing, and thank you for calling out a few of our Rock Stars! They truly make the difference. I'll make sure to give the guys a high five from you! Thanks for the great feedback - I’ll make sure to pass it along, because size does matter!

Don't stay away too long!
Jessica

Jessica Lavin
Hotel Manager
jessica.lavin@hotelmonaco.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I had a lovely stay in Philadelphia at the Hotel Monaco. I like Kimptons and stay at one when I get the chance, and this did not disappoint at all. The staff was friendly and the room was clean and spacious. Only quirk I remember was I couldn't find a price list for how much anything in the mini-bar cost, and I wanted to know what I was getting in to before I cracked open a drink.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Abigail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica L, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Hi Abigail! Thanks so much for taking the time to show us some love!

Hope you get to check out some of our new Kimptons joining the family soon.

Safe Travels,
Jessica

Jessica Lavin
Hotel Manager
jessica.lavin@hotelmonaco.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The rooms are beautifully decorated, as is the lobby and rest of the hotel space. Had some trouble with cell phone service, and there was no wifi in the rooms. The front desk staff was very accommodating and friendly, as were the people working the valet out front.

We stayed here at a discounted rate for a wedding, and I'd say the hotel was *maybe* worth that cost. If I had paid full price for a room, I would have been sorely disappointed. There wasn't even a fridge with space to store items (the fridge was stocked with mini-bar items with no room for anything else).

The location is good, and maybe this is par for the course in Center City. I just expected more.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lkern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica L, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send us some helpful feedback. I hope everyone had a great time at the wedding.

Cheers,
Jessica

Jessica Lavin
Hotel Manager
jessica.lavin@hotelmonaco.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The rooms are very boldly decorated , yellow , black white . Comfortable beds and pillows.
Good security , you need your room key to get the elevator to go to your floor.
Lower level conference rooms - cell phones do not work , no service.
Parking is $40.00 a night and it is valet , in and out service. Door men and valets are very nice and helpful . The location of this Hotel is really good , very close to historic sights and all major roads.

Room Tip: really isn't a bad room in the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnamarieV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica L, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share feedback on your stay. I hope you had fun in Philly - we do have a great welcome team!

Cheers,
Jessica

Jessica Lavin
Hotel Manager
jessica.lavin@hotelmonaco.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

this hotel was just average and so was the service. the LOBBY is set up weird. there wasn't anyone behind the front desk when we got there to check in on a saturday night. I had to ask another hotel guest if this was the lobby. I specifically reserved two double beds, but when I got to the room there was only one king bed. the FRONT DESK was unapologetic about it and basically said "there's nothing i cand do we are sold out". as far as the DECOR of the hotel it is supposedd to be french style modeled after the country monaco in europe. However, i have been to monaco in europe and really the Monaco hotel is brightly colored, cheesy, and has dirty carpeting in the room. The actual guest rooms are tiny. Now let's talk about the LOCATION: if you are going to stratus lounge, old city or the historic sights in philadelphia this is a good location. If you are planning on going anywhere in rittenhouse square where most of the shopping, restaurants and trendy places are, just stay somewhere near rittenhouse square. it's not nice enought here to cab it back and forth, unless you get a really good room rate. About the stratus lounge: they will make you wait outside in line to get in, even if they aren't crowded, even if you are a hotel guest and even if you ate at the red owl tavern inside because it's a "seperate property". a clear lack of customer service here; this would never happen in new york city or vegas. let's talk about hotel Parking: prepare to pay $40 for the valet or park in the lot about 4 blocks down. Clearly they didn't get the memo that this isn't new york city. this rate is not on par with any other lot in center city philadelphia, and i spend a lot of time in the city for work. In summary, not a horrible experience, but not a great one either. only stay here if you get a really good room rate.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCTravelerUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica L, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
I really appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay. It’s through direct feedback that we are able to grow and continuously improve. I've shared your review with our operations managers.

Thank you!
Jessica

Jessica Lavin
Hotel Manager
jessica.lavin@hotelmonaco.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Spent two nights here on a business/pleasure trip. Love the small feel of the hotel. Charming, but with a very eclectic feel. Decor is very modern - love the zebra print bathrobes and yoga mat they leave in the closet for you. Front desk staff was helpful and accommodating. The only drawback here is having to valet park your car (they take your car to an off-premise parking facility which has a hefty fee per day, and when needing to pick your car up at the end of your stay, it can take up to 30 minutes for them to get your vehicle, so best to call down early to get it).

The rooftop bar was fun for a nightcap. Red Owl restaurant on premises also serves up good food. If you feel like walking a few blocks, don't miss the Reading Terminal Market and a stop at DiNic's for their famous pork and beef sandwiches...a must do before leaving Philly.

This hotel is very close to some fun sightseeing attractions (U.S. Mint and Liberty Bell was fun to see). Also, the double decker tour buses were fun (try the tour of Eastern State Penitentiary which has an amazing amount of history to it).

Would definitely recommend this hotel to others, so long as you don't mind the significant eclectic flair and funky room decor!

Room Tip: Request a room away from the trash dumpsters, as this was a small drawback to our room location when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvthepalms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica L, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
It sounds like you may have been talking to our GM Nick - his favorite lunchtime spot is DiNic's for the roast pork and broccoli rabe. And he makes sure to hit up Eastern State every Halloween season! So glad you had a great time. Hopefully it was less business than pleasure. Come back and see us anytime!

Thanks for sharing,
Jessica

Jessica Lavin
Hotel Manager
jessica.lavin@hotelmonaco.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,200 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia
Address: 433 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2426 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing