We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia
Ranked #3 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Spent a night at this hotel and absolutely loved it. The location and service are fantastic. Everyone was beyond helpful. The complimentary wine hour was a great touch. The rooms are a good size and are comfortable. Really there is nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelgM7248CS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Michael G -

Thank you for choosing the Monaco on your winter staycation. Wine hour is always a lot of fun. Especially on the third Thursday of the month when there are always surprises in store and the occasional awesome "holiday" like National Irish Coffee Day. Yes - it exists and yes we celebrated.

Safe travels,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,775)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,959 - 1,965 of 2,775 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014

The hotel is great and the rooftop bar is cool but the location is also a key element. smack in a great area to walk around. Across the street is the historical district, due south is society hill and olde city is to the west. It's a very different fel than center city.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Val W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Val W -

If Philly weren't such an amazing walking city you definitely would not have much reason to stray too far from the Monaco. It's 10 minutes to the best the town has to offer. Thanks for exploring and enjoying your stay with us.

Best,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

recently stayed overnight for a small business meeting. The staff was quite gracious and accommodating. At the last minute, the Red Owl Tavern whipped up a vegetarian meal for me for lunch. The room was quite comfortable (I stayed in one of the corner suites). Really enjoyed the atmosphere in the Stratus and Mist rooms on the roof. Wonderful, light and informal space for a small intimate get together or meeting. the other meeting rooms in the basement were ok-nothing memorable but certainly adequate. We were served buffet style for meals-food was above average but not extraordinary. I would definitely return there in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhillyDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear PhillyDoc -

Thank you for prescribing a stay at the Monaco for those traveling to Philadelphia. Stratus offers great atmosphere for daytime meetings (and nighttime lounging) but I'm sure with the views from your room, your colleagues would have been just as happy to hold the meetings in your suite.

Regards,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stayed here for one night over memorial day weekend last year and had a pretty good time. I think Kimptons are fairly overrated, but it was a nice place. The "raid the minibar" coupon and free internet for being a member were great. The room itself was pretty nice, but very small. The fitness center was really great. All employees we dealt with were very friendly. The free wine hour is a nice touch. We liked the location, in old town but close enough to Rittenhouse and Reading Market. It's worth comparing rates, but we would not pay any more for it over many other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IAD_ORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear IAD_ORD -

Ouch! Et tu Brute! While I'm taking it completely personally that you think Kimpton is overrated, I will concede I'm entirely biased. But on the other hand - I'm happy you had a "pretty good time" and good enough to offer some great feedback 8 months later!

Looking forward to earning a properly rated label from you in the future.

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed here during a weekend trip to Philadelphia. The weather had been very chilly and it was wonderful being welcomed to the hotel with a roaring fire in the fireplace of the hotel lobby. The staff were friendly and efficient. We loved the decor in the lobby and in our hotel room (a standard king bedroom on the 9th floor). The attention to detail was great. The bed was very cozy. I usually remove throw pillows from the bed right away, and as I did this I did find some stray blond hairs on one of the throw pillows. The bathroom was very clean; the glass partition separating the shower from the rest of the bathroom could stand to be a few inches longer as water tended to splash out from the shower while in use. Also, we would have appreciated one more towel bar in the bathroom (one bar is not enough for 2 people). Otherwise, we enjoyed our stay here, loved all the colorful details and the location in the city was central to our points of interest.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thatgirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear thatgirl77 -

Thank you for choosing the Monaco on your trip to Philadelphia. You certainly picked a beautiful time to enjoy all the city has to offer when you flew in from LA. Next time the attention to detail will be perfect and not just great (sorry we missed on a couple of things).

Take care and stay warm,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Alice in the Wonderland theme is relaxing. Good gym w 24 hrs access. Could have been better if there is kettle for boiling water. Jet lag traveller would appreciate a cup of hot drinks while they are working away on laptop.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank EYSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear EliciaSL Y -

The good news is that we do have hot water kettles available in the rooms - just ask! Tea, wine, and wonderland - does sound ideal for relaxing. Thanks for choosing the Monaco.

Safe travels,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Kimpton has really figured out how to do things beautifully across the board and is my favorite hotel group.

After receiving a birthday month promotion offer, I booked a one night stay for a quick getaway to Philly.

Upon a very early arrival, the room was not ready, but I got a call from the hotel as soon as it was. The room on the 6th floor was beautiful. Very spacious with that amazing spa tub! I have never actually floated in a tub before.

The staff at check in was charming and lovely as always, wishing me a happy birthday at every turn. They even sent up some fruit and a slice of birthday cake.

Even though there was a little bit of a line to check out, the staff took the time to ask how my stay had been, what I did during my stay, where I ate, etc. When I mentioned that I was going for cheesesteak, I was offered great advice on where to go and what to avoid.

As always, Monaco simply cannot be beat for making their guests feel welcome and comfortable in a beautiful environment. Perfection.

Room Tip: Treat yourself to the spa tub!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meliberk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear meliberk -

Happy birthday - thank you for celebrating with us. It is our guests that make what we do look so effortless - so thank you for your continued loyalty. In my mind - I have condensed your survey to floating in a giant tub of cheesesteaks. Which would be amazing of course...and reflects your stay with us. Thrilled we were able to deliver again.

Happy travels,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia
Sofitel Philadelphia
#9 of 88 in Philadelphia
3,402 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 88 in Philadelphia
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia

Address: 433 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2426 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range: £127 - £302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing