We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short but good stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia
Ranked #3 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Short but good stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

I stayed at Hotel Monaco Philadelphia earlier this week on a very short business trip. The only problem with the entire stay was that it was simply too short! This is a beautiful, comfortable hotel with very friendly staff. I was surprised to hear it hadn't been open very long...I can't imagine such a convenient location sitting there empty. It's a short walk to some of the most historic sites in the United States and also conveniently located to many of the businesses. The in house restaurant is great but, if you're in the mood for something else, you can find many different cuisines nearby. My room was on the small side but everything was set up so conveniently that one would never even notice that. Nice, nice, nice and beautiful décor.

Room Tip: Rooms with great views are available. I didn't have a great view but hadn't expected one and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RetaginTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear RetaginTN -

It's hard to believe that Kimpton had the opportunity to renovate the space that was here (former office building and bank). Sometimes you have to be lucky AND good. Thank you for choosing the Monaco, even if it was for just a brief moment in time - hopefully there will be plenty more to come (and maybe strung together next time).

Best -

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,761
    469
    129
    45
    21
See reviews for
574
891
92
436
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (754)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, WA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel Monaco based on a recommendation from a friend. We were back in town for my high school reunion and this was a convenient location close to the restaurant where the reunion was held. What I didn't realize is the convenience of being right across the street from a Independence Hall and right in the middle of the historical district. I grew up in Philadelphia, so I had seen all the tourist attractions, but this was only the second trip for my husband and there was more to see!

The room was very nice. The decor was very stylish, just slightly on the tasteful side of garish. It was a bit on the small side and the room we had did not have a view - it opened on to an interior light well. Be sure to ask and be prepared to pay for a view if you want one.

The adjoining restaurant had a great breakfast. The lobby has a cocktail hour in the evening. This makes the hotel a great place for singles or couples. I'm not terrible sure I would classify it as "family friendly" as there did not seem to be activities geared towards children. This hotel would be a great option for business travel as well.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank KirklandJoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear KirklandJoseph -

Thank you for showing off your city and your old friends to your husband while visiting us last June. The location is convenient to be sure - especially for families as all that history can be tiring for kids - not to mention on Saturday nights we have the Kids Korner with snacks and prizes geared towards the wee folk before wine hour which tends to be geared towards an older crowd.

Best -

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

While most of the staff at the front desk are very nice, I was treated so rudely by a young man with slicked back hair brandishing a key and doling out change of a $20 like he was giving out gold nuggets. After I waited on line at the front desk he took a call after i had advanced then made me wait again while he went to the back to do his magic, all while never once making eye contact or even acknowledging my presence (he handed the change to another young very nice black man who was kind enough to apologize).
This has become one of those hotels that makes it clear when you step in the front door that they really don't need your business
Good thing because I am taking mine elsewhere

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank FUNANDGAMESTRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Funandgamestravel,

I cannot appropriately convey my disappointment in the interaction you had with one of the gentlemen at our desk. Our staff is committed to one thing: ensuring each and every one of our guests has the perfect stay. I assure you that the rudeness you experienced at the desk in that moment is so far outside of the norm for our staff that it has left us speechless and deeply embarrassed. A person who treated guests like that would work here for about 5 minutes. It is not who we are.

You are valued and loved by the Philly Monaco. If you need more convincing - I am happy to do so. Please contact me at mark.hayes@hotelmonaco.com

In service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Spent a night at this hotel and absolutely loved it. The location and service are fantastic. Everyone was beyond helpful. The complimentary wine hour was a great touch. The rooms are a good size and are comfortable. Really there is nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Michael G -

Thank you for choosing the Monaco on your winter staycation. Wine hour is always a lot of fun. Especially on the third Thursday of the month when there are always surprises in store and the occasional awesome "holiday" like National Irish Coffee Day. Yes - it exists and yes we celebrated.

Safe travels,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel is great and the rooftop bar is cool but the location is also a key element. smack in a great area to walk around. Across the street is the historical district, due south is society hill and olde city is to the west. It's a very different fel than center city.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Val W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Val W -

If Philly weren't such an amazing walking city you definitely would not have much reason to stray too far from the Monaco. It's 10 minutes to the best the town has to offer. Thanks for exploring and enjoying your stay with us.

Best,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

recently stayed overnight for a small business meeting. The staff was quite gracious and accommodating. At the last minute, the Red Owl Tavern whipped up a vegetarian meal for me for lunch. The room was quite comfortable (I stayed in one of the corner suites). Really enjoyed the atmosphere in the Stratus and Mist rooms on the roof. Wonderful, light and informal space for a small intimate get together or meeting. the other meeting rooms in the basement were ok-nothing memorable but certainly adequate. We were served buffet style for meals-food was above average but not extraordinary. I would definitely return there in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhillyDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear PhillyDoc -

Thank you for prescribing a stay at the Monaco for those traveling to Philadelphia. Stratus offers great atmosphere for daytime meetings (and nighttime lounging) but I'm sure with the views from your room, your colleagues would have been just as happy to hold the meetings in your suite.

Regards,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stayed here for one night over memorial day weekend last year and had a pretty good time. I think Kimptons are fairly overrated, but it was a nice place. The "raid the minibar" coupon and free internet for being a member were great. The room itself was pretty nice, but very small. The fitness center was really great. All employees we dealt with were very friendly. The free wine hour is a nice touch. We liked the location, in old town but close enough to Rittenhouse and Reading Market. It's worth comparing rates, but we would not pay any more for it over many other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IAD_ORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear IAD_ORD -

Ouch! Et tu Brute! While I'm taking it completely personally that you think Kimpton is overrated, I will concede I'm entirely biased. But on the other hand - I'm happy you had a "pretty good time" and good enough to offer some great feedback 8 months later!

Looking forward to earning a properly rated label from you in the future.

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,155 reviews
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia
Address: 433 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2426 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing