We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff and service at the Hotel Monaco!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia
Ranked #4 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Warren, Ohio
2 reviews
“Excellent staff and service at the Hotel Monaco!”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Just wanted to thank the staff for their outstanding service at the Hotel Monaco. Sean, Darnell, Rachid, and Matthew and the rest of the staff gave us excellent service with a smile. All extremely friendly and helpful from the minute you walk in the door until you checkout. Beautiful hotel and experience.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie123xyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Maggie123xyz,

I agree that the best part about the hotel (as beautiful as it is) is the staff. Those guys make me feel special every day I come to work. I know they're passionate about our guests and little else matters.

Thank you for staying with us.

Best,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,863
    490
    140
    50
    24
See reviews for
615
932
96
464
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (792)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We were in town for a wedding, so we wanted something centrally located but also with amenities. This hotel was perfect. It's a very comfortable hotel, with lots of interesting decor. They do a complimentary morning coffee reception in the lobby, and a wine reception every night, for guests. Great way to refresh between sightseeing and dinner. Rooms are well laid out so we weren't cramped, and the bathroom can definitely accommodate two people getting ready. We had a friend stay at the Loews, and while that was nice, I liked this room and the common spaces much better. Only downside is the one restaurant, which had sort of a limited menu. Fortunately, we really enjoyed everything we ate there and they did make things to order so we could modify for the one person in our group who is a picky eater. Dog friendly, and people definitely bring their dogs, so if that's an issue, be forewarned. The doorman ("T") went OUT OF HIS WAY to help us with travel to the airport (during a football game, cabs were hard to come by and we had a lot of luggage).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matouli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear matouli -

Thank you for choosing the Monaco on your recent trip to Philly. We're certainly partial to us over the Loews as well. The upside to your downside is that Chef Jorge Chicas is launching a brand new menu highlighting local and seasonal ingredients and of course seasonal means that the offerings will always be varied. And let's not forget Stratus (our rooftop lounge).

Safe travels,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We arrived just after a heavy snow and in frigid temperatures, but the warm hospitality of the hotel made for a pleasant stay in Philadelphia. The location by Independence Park cannot be beat and every encounter we had with the staff was pleasant and friendly. Rooms are not large, but they are nicely decorated and very comfortable. Our room had a stunning view of Independence Hall. The hotel is very pet friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear tom1234Philadelphia -

Between wine hour, Red Owl Tavern, Stratus Lounge, and in-room dining - the Monaco is perfectly positioned to spend a cold and snowy weekend in Philadelphia. And if/when you do decide to venture out - nowhere else in the city can you hit 5 historic spots in less than 2 blocks. So great choice in other words! Thanks for choosing us.

Warm travels -

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I stayed at Hotel Monaco Philadelphia earlier this week on a very short business trip. The only problem with the entire stay was that it was simply too short! This is a beautiful, comfortable hotel with very friendly staff. I was surprised to hear it hadn't been open very long...I can't imagine such a convenient location sitting there empty. It's a short walk to some of the most historic sites in the United States and also conveniently located to many of the businesses. The in house restaurant is great but, if you're in the mood for something else, you can find many different cuisines nearby. My room was on the small side but everything was set up so conveniently that one would never even notice that. Nice, nice, nice and beautiful décor.

Room Tip: Rooms with great views are available. I didn't have a great view but hadn't expected one and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RetaginTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear RetaginTN -

It's hard to believe that Kimpton had the opportunity to renovate the space that was here (former office building and bank). Sometimes you have to be lucky AND good. Thank you for choosing the Monaco, even if it was for just a brief moment in time - hopefully there will be plenty more to come (and maybe strung together next time).

Best -

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, WA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel Monaco based on a recommendation from a friend. We were back in town for my high school reunion and this was a convenient location close to the restaurant where the reunion was held. What I didn't realize is the convenience of being right across the street from a Independence Hall and right in the middle of the historical district. I grew up in Philadelphia, so I had seen all the tourist attractions, but this was only the second trip for my husband and there was more to see!

The room was very nice. The decor was very stylish, just slightly on the tasteful side of garish. It was a bit on the small side and the room we had did not have a view - it opened on to an interior light well. Be sure to ask and be prepared to pay for a view if you want one.

The adjoining restaurant had a great breakfast. The lobby has a cocktail hour in the evening. This makes the hotel a great place for singles or couples. I'm not terrible sure I would classify it as "family friendly" as there did not seem to be activities geared towards children. This hotel would be a great option for business travel as well.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank KirklandJoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear KirklandJoseph -

Thank you for showing off your city and your old friends to your husband while visiting us last June. The location is convenient to be sure - especially for families as all that history can be tiring for kids - not to mention on Saturday nights we have the Kids Korner with snacks and prizes geared towards the wee folk before wine hour which tends to be geared towards an older crowd.

Best -

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

While most of the staff at the front desk are very nice, I was treated so rudely by a young man with slicked back hair brandishing a key and doling out change of a $20 like he was giving out gold nuggets. After I waited on line at the front desk he took a call after i had advanced then made me wait again while he went to the back to do his magic, all while never once making eye contact or even acknowledging my presence (he handed the change to another young very nice black man who was kind enough to apologize).
This has become one of those hotels that makes it clear when you step in the front door that they really don't need your business
Good thing because I am taking mine elsewhere

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank FUNANDGAMESTRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Funandgamestravel,

I cannot appropriately convey my disappointment in the interaction you had with one of the gentlemen at our desk. Our staff is committed to one thing: ensuring each and every one of our guests has the perfect stay. I assure you that the rudeness you experienced at the desk in that moment is so far outside of the norm for our staff that it has left us speechless and deeply embarrassed. A person who treated guests like that would work here for about 5 minutes. It is not who we are.

You are valued and loved by the Philly Monaco. If you need more convincing - I am happy to do so. Please contact me at mark.hayes@hotelmonaco.com

In service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Spent a night at this hotel and absolutely loved it. The location and service are fantastic. Everyone was beyond helpful. The complimentary wine hour was a great touch. The rooms are a good size and are comfortable. Really there is nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelgM7248CS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Michael G -

Thank you for choosing the Monaco on your winter staycation. Wine hour is always a lot of fun. Especially on the third Thursday of the month when there are always surprises in store and the occasional awesome "holiday" like National Irish Coffee Day. Yes - it exists and yes we celebrated.

Safe travels,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
789 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia
Address: 433 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2426 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing