We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New, clean and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia
Ranked #4 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“New, clean and convenient”
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at Hotel Monaco. We booked it based on research on Tripadvisor. The photos here are a true testament to how new and modern the hotel is. What surprised us (positively) was how helpful the staff is. Great stay all around!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Irem M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Irem M,

Big props to you for being such a savvy researcher. I'd like to hear more about this Trip Advisor you speak of...

Thank you for choosing the Monaco and we look forward to surprising you more in the future.


Happy travels,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,898
    498
    143
    51
    24
See reviews for
632
945
97
473
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (808)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

This has to be the best hotel I've stayed at. The door man T, was so incredibly helpful and did everything he could possibly have done in our one night stay to make it awesome. He partner Dante was even a Seahawks fan for day :-)

The rooms are immaculate, incredibly designed and the beds comfortable. The decor from the moment you walk in the door all the way to the bathroom it is beautiful and clean. Location was great and we are lunch and dinner from the pub next door (my friend was sick and T even brought our dinner up for us).

Location is perfect if you are there to see the historical sites. We had a view of independent hall from our window.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank seattlenailgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear seattlenailgirl,

Thank you for staying with us. You made a great friend in T. That guy will walk on hot coals for our guests (and then teach a cardio boxing class every Thursday morning). We'll keep the Seahawk for a day thing between us, that could land him in some hot water with the locals.

Best,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I have recently hosted a corporate meeting here, and I have to say how impressed I was. The property itself is beautiful, but the service you receive goes beyond your highest expectations! Every staff member ensures your stay is enjoyable. The av setup was perfect, food and beverage service outstanding & delicious-all my guests raved! The planning and execution of my event was seamless and every detail was taken care of! Barry & Michael are the dream team of events, many thanks!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slavache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Slavache -

Thank you so much for hosting your event with us. We aim to be the home away from home, so why not work away from work too. And obviously with guys like Barry and Michael running the show, how can we miss. They're like the Timberlake and Fallon of event management. We look forward to the opportunity to host your next meeting (or just a weekend away).


Regards,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Stayed @ the Monaco from Jan 31-Feb 2, 2014.

First night, there was a party going on in the room next door until 4 AM. This is obviously not the fault of the hotel, but they took every measure possible to compensate us and stop the shenanigans once i called to inform them.

Everything about the place is first class but also warm.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coramdeo_10036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear coramdeo_10036,

Thank you for your understanding in regards to the not-so-hilarious hijinks of your neighbors. We like fun as much as the next guy, but certainly not at the expense of your fun.

And thank you for choosing the Monaco. We hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Just wanted to thank the staff for their outstanding service at the Hotel Monaco. Sean, Darnell, Rachid, and Matthew and the rest of the staff gave us excellent service with a smile. All extremely friendly and helpful from the minute you walk in the door until you checkout. Beautiful hotel and experience.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie123xyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Maggie123xyz,

I agree that the best part about the hotel (as beautiful as it is) is the staff. Those guys make me feel special every day I come to work. I know they're passionate about our guests and little else matters.

Thank you for staying with us.

Best,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We were in town for a wedding, so we wanted something centrally located but also with amenities. This hotel was perfect. It's a very comfortable hotel, with lots of interesting decor. They do a complimentary morning coffee reception in the lobby, and a wine reception every night, for guests. Great way to refresh between sightseeing and dinner. Rooms are well laid out so we weren't cramped, and the bathroom can definitely accommodate two people getting ready. We had a friend stay at the Loews, and while that was nice, I liked this room and the common spaces much better. Only downside is the one restaurant, which had sort of a limited menu. Fortunately, we really enjoyed everything we ate there and they did make things to order so we could modify for the one person in our group who is a picky eater. Dog friendly, and people definitely bring their dogs, so if that's an issue, be forewarned. The doorman ("T") went OUT OF HIS WAY to help us with travel to the airport (during a football game, cabs were hard to come by and we had a lot of luggage).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matouli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear matouli -

Thank you for choosing the Monaco on your recent trip to Philly. We're certainly partial to us over the Loews as well. The upside to your downside is that Chef Jorge Chicas is launching a brand new menu highlighting local and seasonal ingredients and of course seasonal means that the offerings will always be varied. And let's not forget Stratus (our rooftop lounge).

Safe travels,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We arrived just after a heavy snow and in frigid temperatures, but the warm hospitality of the hotel made for a pleasant stay in Philadelphia. The location by Independence Park cannot be beat and every encounter we had with the staff was pleasant and friendly. Rooms are not large, but they are nicely decorated and very comfortable. Our room had a stunning view of Independence Hall. The hotel is very pet friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear tom1234Philadelphia -

Between wine hour, Red Owl Tavern, Stratus Lounge, and in-room dining - the Monaco is perfectly positioned to spend a cold and snowy weekend in Philadelphia. And if/when you do decide to venture out - nowhere else in the city can you hit 5 historic spots in less than 2 blocks. So great choice in other words! Thanks for choosing us.

Warm travels -

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
799 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia
Address: 433 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2426 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing