We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia
Ranked #4 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Location Location Location!”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Such a unique fun hotel! Coffee and tea in the morning Wine in the evenings, a great touch. Rooms are clean and modern. You can not beat the location. Kimpton is a pet friendly hotel, hope to return soon with our dogs!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jena J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear ActionJcksn55 -

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to offer a little feedback (as well as the hope of a return engagement). You definitely hit all of the high points!

Best,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,860
    490
    140
    50
    24
See reviews for
613
931
96
464
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (792)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucks County, PA
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed at Monaco for a night away. The Hotel is conveniently located at 5th and Chestnut, close to the historic attractions, and easy walking distance to many restaurants and clubs in Old City. The door staff are welcoming and quick to guide you. The hotel caters to a younger clientele with funky decor (think English country house on LSD) in contrast to the Omni down the street. The rooms are quiet, largish, and the beds are great. For the price, and given its billing as a luxury hotel, I was expecting a little more, to be honest. What was missing? Well, a few water bottles in the room, more than one tiny bottle each of the shampoo and conditioner, more than one towel each, some bath gel for the tub (we booked the spa room, and the tub really is wonderful). Not that it wasn't a pleasant stay - it was - but there wasn't much of a Wow factor. Also - couldn't get WiFi in the room, without calling the desk.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hutch08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear hutch08 -

English country house on LSD. I love that (unofficially). I don't love that we didn't wow you with our rooms. If you let me know when you're coming back in to town, please contact me so I can ensure we take extra special care of you. My email is mark.hayes@hotelmonaco.com

In service,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildwood, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel last week while I was in Philadelphia for business. We were blown away by the outstanding staff, who were amazingly helpful and welcoming. We liked the Monaco so much that we cancelled our reservation at a different hotel for our next trip to Philly in March, so that we could stay at the Monaco again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Darren P -

Please disregard any reaction that may be perceived as gloating but we're psyched you came to your senses and decided to stay with us again in March. Hopefully this trip is more leisure than business but if not there's clearly a lot of options for your wife to spend her time in this neighborhood.

Regards,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Location in the old city - across the street from Independence Hall and Liberty Bell - fantastic. A very high end boutique hotel - great building and location, room exceptionally clean and funky decor (with nice extra touches including cute Rocky robes and high end toiletries), free wine reception in evenings a bonus, short 10 minute walk from Market East if coming by public transit from airport (or 2 minute walk from SEPTA stop), multiple dining options nearby, easy walk to most top Philly attractions. Red Owl Tavern in hotel - reviewed seperately - excellent. Join Kimpton rewards program (free) to get free wifi and $10 credit (minibar or Red Owl).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DandDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear DandDe -

The Rocky robes are a lot of fun - and this may go without saying - but unique to this hotel. Same with the Ben Franklin inspired kites you'll find in the rooms too. We are in love with this city and this location. Glad you felt the love on your trip here. Thank you for choosing us.

Safe travels,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

The lobby is outstanding. It seemed I was in a museum of art, except I was carrying a wonderful glass of complimentary Pinot Noir as I explored the art books stacked upon a table that in the morning became the beverage area. It has been snowing outdoors (in Philly) for weeks and the large fireplace was very inviting. I wanted to sit in every one-of-a-kind chair placed around the area. Upstairs I went, with my wine, to enjoy the beautifully appointed room! We stayed in an Art Deco hotel in Berlin which reminded us of this room. You must experience the fine service,food in the Red Owl Tavern, and gorgeous decor! This was the best Birthday stay ever.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Debra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Debra H. -

Happy Belated Birthday! Glad we could celebrate with you. Based on your review, I was beginning to wonder if you had actually spent any actual time in your room. Clearly you did...and loved it as I do. These are probably my favorite rooms in all of Kimpton Nation (objective opinon of course).

Best,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Had a great stay New Years Eve 2013. At our arrival ( late afternoon) there was wine and "champagne" in the lobby. The room was very quiet and comfortable. The decor was one of a kind, the bathroom tastefully decorated and everything was totally up to date. Restaurant attached to the hotel was very good also. Since it was a new year and we had brunch in the restaurant we got a complementary late check out. Of course the central location was helpful, especially that day (New Years Day) since we could walk to The Mummers Parade!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eivor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Eivor B -

Thanks for ringing in the New Year with us. Always a great start to a day, week, year, when you're sleeping at a Kimpton. And even better - the Mummer's Parade walks to us!

Happy Travels,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 12 February 2014

The Hotel Monaco was so very welcoming to us and our two dachshunds -- and they didn't charge extra for the dogs. They even supplied feeding bowls. The room was clean and comfortable and the room service offerings were very reasonable and good. The staff were friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to make our visit a pleasant one.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Stephanie A -

We love our pets (rather "your" pets) and we never charge for having them stay with us (only if they party too hard). Size and species are only limited by your comfort in traveling with them. Which seems quite high, so you should definitely come back soon.

Best,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
789 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia
Address: 433 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2426 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing