We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Society Hill Hotel(Philadelphia)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Morris House Hotel(Philadelphia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Penn's View Hotel(Philadelphia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sleep Inn Center City(Philadelphia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,879)
Filter reviews
2,879 results
Traveller rating
2,111
531
150
58
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,111
531
150
58
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe red owl tavernrooftop barindependence hallliberty bellalice in wonderlandwine hourstratus loungeold cityacross the streetpark viewsoaking tubyoga matcomplimentary winewedding weekendbeautiful hotelmini barhistoric district
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,917 - 1,922 of 2,879 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Location:
It is situated right on top of every historical site you are going to want to see in Philadelphia. There is an adorable little park right across the street to walk your dog. Tons of amazing restaurants and shops within walking distance.

Noise:
Despite the central location the only noise I have heard from outside are the church bells. I've never been disturbed by noise in the hallway or from neighboring rooms. The hotel was fully booked on one of my visits and it was still a peaceful oasis.

Staff:
They could not possibly friendlier or more helpful. This is one seriously cheerful, chatty bunch.

Food:
Food comes from the ground floor restaurant. It's delicious. The restaurant will suggest you save the $4 delivery fee and 20% service charge by ordering from them and carrying it up to your room. DON'T. Our dog was with us and it was raining so we couldn't eat in the restaurant or at their sidewalk seating. We took their advice and ordered there and brought the food to the room. The plastic lined takeout containers made the food soggy. It was so crammed into the containers it was impossible to eat. If you can't eat at the restaurant you should spend the extra money on room service. You get the nice comfy tray to eat off and the food won't be a soggy mess. Trust me. I've tried both ways. Rom service is worth a few extra dollars.

Room:
Every detail is perfect. From the Rocky inspired hooded sweatshirt robes to the gorgeous wallpaper in the closets. On my first visit the hotel was lacking hooks in the bathroom, but they have rectified that. Beds are as cozy as they come. Design is elegant and whimsical.

Complimentary Wine Hour:
The hotel offers free wine from 5-6pm. Sounds cheesy and horrible and like something to avoid like the plague right? WRONG! If you want a seat, and you will, get there at 5pm. Everyone goes! The wine is delicious, the staff are charming and your fellow guests are fascinating.

Cons:

Valet Parking:
You can park you car in the lot across the street for a fraction of the valet parking cost. Our worst wait for the car was 40 minutes past the time we requested it. We were 20 minutes late for a crucial meeting despite the fact that we'd called over an hour in advance. That means a total of one hour and 40 minutes from the time we made the call the when we got it. If we'd self parked in the garage across the street we'd have had it in 5 minutes. Lesson learned.

Tub filler:
It's the slowest tub filler in the history of tub fillers. It took 15 minutes to get one inch of water in the tub to bathe our one year old. I eventually started filling cups in the sink and pouring them into the tub. If an adult wanted to take a bath you'd have to allot at least an hour to fill the tub.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view. It's worth a few extra dollars.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelFreak1771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

TravelFreak1771 -

Great feedback covering your stay from Genesis to Exodus. Thank you for choosing the Monaco and we will work to make sure there are no cons next time. That is far too long to wait for your car OR a tub to fill. I have passed along that issue to our engineering team as that is definitely far from normal.

Safe travels -

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The only reason I am rating this place average is due to the late night food. I arrived at 10:30, hungry from travel, hoping for a healthy meal. The menu of the restaurant looked really nice, but kitchen closed, only unhealthy late night options available. To their credit I complained about it and they took off the room service charge. Otherwise, very nice bathroom, almost as nice as the Westin St. Louis. Nice bed, good sleep. Great location. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KB1Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

KB1Texas -

Sorry we couldn't offer you something a little more on the overnight IRD menu. Red Owl's menu is great, featuring fresh and local ingredients. Maintaining that consistency and quality is something we are always seeking to 24 hours a day, Hopefully the next time you come we will have mixed it up a little for you. I have never been to St. Louis, but I will take that as a great compliment!

Regards -

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Location, location, location....You can't get better than this in Phillie! Right on the side of the Indipendence Hall and the Liberty Bell museum.
The Hotel has great interior decoration, in perfect Kimpton style (not to forget the "wine hour") and a very nice rooftop bar, great music and drinks!

Room Tip: Try to ask for high floor park view
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marconap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Marconap -

It's true that there is nothing more important than location. Everything else can be fixed/added/subtracted/redesigned/refurbished and so on. But there is only 1 hotel on the same block as the Liberty Bell and Independence Hall. Thank you for staying with us.

Best -

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Our weekend at the Hotel Monaco has made us converts to Kimpton properties.First, the location is fantastic, located across the street from Independence Hall, a block from the subway, and two or three blocks from restaurants, bars, etc. The kids loved that carriage tours left from the corner as well, they spent quite a bit of time petting the horses and talking to the driver. Second, the beds were so comfortable. Third, while I understand that service is their job, they are really good at what they do. It began when we checked in - they did not have the room we reserved so upgraded us to a larger room with a park view. They also gave our kids (5 and 2) bags with toys and trinkets, which was a really nice touch. We also requested a goldfish for the room, which the kids absolutely loved. The little touches continued throughout the weekend. We missed the hosted wine hour they have every evening, but they brought us glasses of wine anyway, and juice for the kids from the restaurant when we were drinking our coffee in the lobby one morning. We also came back the first night to treats and drinks, in celebration of the 5-year-old's birthday (part of the reason we were doing the weekend get-away). Fourth, even when there was an issue, they did what they could to remedy it. For example, it took about 20 minutes to get our car from the valet on the first evening. We didn't have anywhere to be, but it did mean that we were waiting in the vestibule for 20 minutes with two little kids. They kindly, and unexpectedly, comped our parking for the evening. So for the cost of one night's parking and some (very delicious) snacks and drinks, they've won loyalty from this family. Thank you for a lovely family get away. As my 5-year-old said as she was falling asleep, "this place is wonderful!"

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Melissa B -

That's a sweet ending to a great narrative of your stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us (not to mention choosing us in the first place). Hopefully one day your kids' kids will be wowed as much as yours were...but I might be getting a little ahead of myself.

Happy travels -

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The wife and I stayed for our 10th year anniversary. Could not have enjoyed it more. We selected a corner king spa room and it was a wise choice. The room was very spacious, very clean and vey comfortable. The bathroom in the corner spa room was the best part of our stay. The large soaking tub by the window, was a real nice thing to have for a romantic getaway. We were sad to leave. We will be coming back again for sure. Plenty of great restaurantds in wealking distance. Amada and Buddakhan are great choices.

Room Tip: The corner king spa is a great choice. We were only on the second floor but really enjoyed watching the foot traffic below. Higher is not always better!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Daniel L -

Happy belated Anniversary! Our corner rooms are awesome. This time of year there are so many people on the mall that watching them all day should probably be noted as an amenity unto itself. Can't wait to celebrate more with you.

Cheers -

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews