We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia
Ranked #4 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
1 review
“Excellent service”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We were welcomed right away and were very well taken care of by the staff. We were given great suggestions of what to visit while in Philadelphia. The staff took their time and we never felt rushed or like just another customer. This was the best service we have ever had at a hotel. Our children were also welcomed immediately and treated very well, especially by Rashid. He was a superstar!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Julie C -

B'gosh! Sounds like a great stay...but of course any stay where you get to meet Roshid is going to be awesome. He (along with our whole bell/door team) are tremendous.

Thank you for choosing the Monaco.

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,800
    483
    134
    50
    24
See reviews for
596
909
94
447
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (775)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Almhult, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is a great place to stay! First of all the location is fantastic. Very close to everything that Old City has to offer. The staff is so friendly, they make coming back to the hotel a real pleasure. The rooms good size, with very comfortable beds. We had requested a crib for our baby, and it was already in the room when we arrived. We also got door to door help with our luggage, which was very much appreciated with all the baby gear in tow. We did not have the breakfast here, so I cannot vouch for the food, but compared to the rest of the experience, I am sure it is delicious. We were happy to have a room facing a side street, since we have early bedtime with baby, so there were no problems with noise. Be sure to check out the gym, the equipment is very well maintained. We really loved this place and would stay here again anytime!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyLifeAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
MyLifeAdventure -

"Never wake a sleeping baby" is one of our top 5 mottos here. Happy we were able to live up to it and help make your stay as comfortable as possible (not to mention help you sneak in a little workout). Hopefully Sweden to Philly is a trip you'll be making often.

Safe travels -

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
327 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Great location for tourists. Walking distance to liberty bell, independence hall, visitors center, US mint, Ben Franklin museum, and plenty of cheese steaks.

The rooms were clean and nice.

The staff was polite, helpful, and cheerful.

Complimentary wine hour every night from 5 to 6 in the lobby.

Complimentary bikes to use. We rode over to the art museum and Rocky statue then continued up Kelly Drive bike path.

Perfect hotel for a Philadelphia tourism trip.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PH-Travel-Lovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
PH-Travel-Lovers -

We have to offer complimentary bikes, if for no other reason than to help you work off the cheesesteaks. That's a great path you took. The Kelly Drive/Schuykill River Trail is beautiful. Definitely one of my favorite things to do in the city. Thank you for staying with us.

Happy Travels -

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Our stay was perfect top to bottom. View of Independence Hall from our window. Walking distance to all the sites or close to transportation that will get you there. Every member of the staff from desk to housekeeping performed beyond expectations and with smiles and friendliness. The rooms have a beautiful eclectic style that my wife ran around taking pictures for future ideas. Free wine at happy hour, security cards to use elevator, helpful doorman, the list goes on and on...!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EisenmanFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
EisenmanFamily -

I think hitting the top of your wife's list is reason enough to celebrate.The rest is icing on the cake!

Thank you for staying with us.

Best -

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Hotel Monaco is a superb boutique hotel that has it all: great location, excellent staff, and wonderful rooms (we had a corner room with a spa tub and incredible views). The overall decor was quirky and absolutely charming, and the complimentary wine hour was such a nice touch. This hotel hits it out of the ballpark, and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Corner King room with spa tub is awesome. Join Loyalty program for free wifi
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycling containers in rooms; very green hotel. I am very impressed with Platinum status.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrPiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
DrPiggy -

Thank you for choosing the Monaco. Those corner king spa rooms are pretty awesome. Soak in some history while soaking in your tub. Hard to beat. Our Karma loyalty program has a lot of other great perks! Don't stop at just the wifi (which is a nice one).

Best -

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinking Spring, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I loved this place. Room was immaculate, service was great, front desk took great care of us. Honestly the best Kimpton that I have used! Stay here if you are in Philly! Make sure you visit the free social hour.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JERohm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
JERohm -

Best Kimpton?! We'll definitely take that honor as there are a lot of great ones out there (including within this city). Hopefully you'll try us again, but if not, it's good to know you'll be in good hands out there.

Happy travels -

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilcullen, Ireland
Level Contributor
274 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

If there is a better hotel in philadelphia I would be amazed! From the exceptionally quirky Lewis Carroll inspired decor in reception to the free wine hour held each day at 5pm, the hotel Monaco is a truly outstanding place to stay for a night, or two, or more!! I had three nights here and while I was impressed with Philadelphia, it is the hotel that has been the highlight. The staff are genuinely friendly. Joanna in particular, was great at helping us pick somewhere to eat each night. The room was spacious, beautifully decorated with a wonderful shower. The location of the hotel could not be better, close to most tourist sites and within a short walk of restaurants and shops. The wine hour was amazing! Yesterday they also gave out free ice cream with the wine (there is a lemonade as a non alcoholic alternative!) this is definitely a hotel punching above its star rating, I would highly recommend a stay in this hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank POC-CW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
POC-CW -

Happy belated National Ice Cream Sandwich Day! Joanna is terrific - glad she was able to take care of you. And in the city of Rocky, fighting above our weight class should never be a surprise!

Thank you for staying with us -

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,203 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia
Address: 433 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2426 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing