We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia
Nearby Hotels
US$268
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$244
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$364
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$320
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$203
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$166
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Windsor Suites(Philadelphia)
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$244
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$234
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$263
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,917)
Filter reviews
2,917 results
Traveller rating
2,145
534
150
58
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,145
534
150
58
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe red owl tavernrooftop barindependence hallliberty bellalice in wonderlandwine hourstratus loungeold cityacross the streetpark viewsoaking tubyoga matcomplimentary winewedding weekendbeautiful hotelmini barhistoric district
Filter
Updating list...
1,815 - 1,820 of 2,917 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel mid July and had a great time. For the first time ever I had used Hotwire to make a reservation and was a bit apprehensive that our custom would not be as valued as having booked directly with the hotel. I need not have worried. Requests which I had made in my booking were recognised and acted upon. We were also greeted at reception with a very welcome iced lemonade after a long day's travelling. The room was lovely, the bed comfy, great view and excellent wifi. Maid service was very efficient and for the first time ever I got a thank you note for the tip that was left. Thought this was a nice touch. I loved the location of the hotel in the more historical part of Philadelphia. Really enjoyed Philadelphia as a city and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mally93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

mally93 -

Thank you for taking a chance on us, no matter how you booked your reservation, we are always eager to give you the best experience possible. Very sweet to hear about the thank you note. I am not surprised as our housekeeping team is very considerate and incredibly appreciative of any acknowledgement of their hard work.

Cheers -

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We decided to stay at the Hotel Monaco since it was in walking distance to so many historical sites. From the moment with valet parked our car, the hospitality was top notch! We previously stayed at the Hotel Palomar in April due to its proximity to Rittenhouse Square. The Kimpton Hotels are exceptional in making their guests feel special. Thank you again and again!!!

Room Tip: Our room on the 10th floor had a remarkable view of the Liberty Bell, to name just one of the many brilliant views!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mcacw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

mcacw -

Thank you for giving us a shot on this side of town. Of course, the Palomar was a great choice as well. As long as you keep coming back to one of us, we'll be happy. Hope to see you again soon.

Best -

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We booked this hotel because of the proximity to historic Philly. We walked everywhere easily. The staff and service were great. We'll stay at the Hotel Monaco again for sure at our next visit to Philly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Danielle G -

Thank you for staying with the Monaco. Can't wait to see you guys again the next time you visit!

Happy Travels -

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

From the moment we pulled up, the staff was professional, efficient and helpful. Walking in to the registration area was an experience in itself with the elegance and splendor of another place or time with the heavy velvet drapes, crystal chandelier in the shape of a sailing ship, and pieces of art from all over the world. Absolutely beautiful. We had a corner room overlooking Independence Mall. Our room was decorated with style and class. The soaking tub was amazing with a view of the Independence bell and clock tower. The location in Old City is within walking distance to many restaurants, sights and activities. The hotel has a wine hour which is a little social hour for all the guests and shouldn't be missed. Rooftop Stratus Lounge is a hub of activity, good drinks and friendly people. I'd have to say this has been the finest hotel I've ever stayed.

Room Tip: Room 402 is a corner with a soaking tub.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Sandy R -

Sounds like a great stay. The corner king spa room you booked was a great choice. One of my favorites for sure. Unfortunately we only have 9 of them, so if you want to come back and book that keep in mind we have corner suites (not to mention a number of park view rooms overlooking Independence Mall AND our deluxe suites overlook Signers' Park). Thank you for choosing us. Can't wait to see you again.

Best -

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Loved being in the heart of everything. Surprisingly, super quiet space. I had the perfect room with a view. It's close to so much.... you can walk many places and the staff is amazingly helpful with suggestions and great food choices (which matters). While busy, you never really feel crowded or forgotten which is great. Staff is super responsive and helpful.

I went with friends, but absolutely plan to have a short get-a-way and would want to stay again. Also, if you just love hotel interiors, this is the place to be. Gorgeous -- not sure how they managed to pull it off, but it's top of the line.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rae M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Rae M -

There are a lot of days where I can't figure out how they pulled off this design either. New details are consistently revealing themselves to me. A couple of brilliant designers and a lot of skilled craftsmen to start - and then followed up with the hardwork and dedication of our housekeeping and engineering teams to keep it peak condition. Thank you for staying with us.

Regards -

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews