We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Location is to die for!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia
Ranked #3 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Missouri
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The Location is to die for!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We booked the Hotel Monaco due to its excellent location - directly across from Independence Historic Park - and the availability of a government rate that made the hotel quite a steal. The rooms were exceptionally large for a historic building - we had a room with two queen beds and still had plenty of space for all our luggage and three people. Do ask for a room with a Parkview - if we'd had binoculars, we could have seen the Liberty Bell, as it was, it was a gorgeous view of the park and Independence Hall. The beds were comfortable, and there were plenty of choices of pillows (always a complaint of ours). Even though our room faced the park, the noise was minimal - the most evident noise was the chiming of the clock tower. The rooms were serviced quickly (our was serviced by noon). We did have to call for towels one evening around 9 pm, but they had them up to our room within 10 minutes of calling. The location was within walking distance of the major historic sites and near a Phlash Bus Stop which took you to the other museums and major attractions. The complimentary cocktail hour was also another boon, and the décor, like other Kimpton hotels I've stayed in, was impeccable. If you sign up for Kimpton Rewards (totally free), you get free Wi-Fi (good quality too!), and get a $10 credit at the bar or for the mini-bar. Definitely up the Kimpton standard, and I'd definitely stay here again if I was in Philly.

Room Tip: Park View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gleek_Wisz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
Gleek_Wisz -

The Kimpton standard is not an easy one to live up to....thank you for the stamp of approval! We have a number of government offices around the hotel, not to mention historic sites, so hopefully work will bring you around our way again soon. The Independence Hall clock will herald your return every hour, on the hour!

Great tip on PHLASH by the way - Philly just revamped it, and it is an awesome (and cheap) way to make it to all the sites if you don't fancy the 30 minute jaunt to the museum district.

Thank you for choosing the Monaco.

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,776
    476
    131
    47
    21
See reviews for
583
897
93
440
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (761)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Solana Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

What more can you ask for:
- Amazing location: liberty bell is across the street (you can see it from your room if it faces east)
- amazing service: helpful, friendly, knowledgable
- amazing decor - one of the nicest kimpton's I've been to
- amazing rooms - spacious, nicely decorated, modern, clean and very comfortable
add to it a fully equipped gym and you have a winner

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noam Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
Noam Z -

How do you really feel about your stay? Sincerely - thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to share your feelings here.

Hope to see you and your amazing family again soon.

Best -

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Great location right near Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell. Lots of nice restaurants in the area and a short walk to many other attractions. The hotel itself is beautiful and very whimsically decorated. The staff is super friendly too. The have a complimentary wine hour for guests every day at 5pm which is really fun (all the Kimpton hotels seem to do this). Also, they have a very cool rooftop lounge that becomes a hopping bar/hotspot at night. The rooms are very comfortable and very nicely appointed. We've stayed here twice now and it's one of our favorite hotels anywhere...

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dspreis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
dspreis -

Thank you for choosing the Monaco. As you noted, like all Kimptons we have a reception every evening in our living room (and there happen to be fermented grape products). Coffee in the morning, bikes to borrow, yoga mats to stretch out on, we feature all the Kimpton touches,and a few of the surprises you noticed too - like our decor. Hint: closets.

We are looking forward to staying your favorite for a long time.

Cheers -

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I stayed here for six nights in August 2014, and it was a great experience. Excellent location, especially for exploring historical Philadelphia, and a wonderful hotel with nice rooms and good facilities. A great welcome is provided too!

Green Features: Very good green credentials - recycling is clearly encouraged.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
Jeremy D -

Six nights?! You practically should have been on the payroll after a week with us.Thank you for taking so much time away from your real home to be a part of ours.

Best -

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This hotel is in a great location. Liberty Square is right across the street as is the Liberty Bell. The hotel staff is among the best I've encountered and they will do their level best to help you in any way. The front desk is hard to find. Make sure you look for the sign to registration or you will start wandering down the front hallway. The décor of this hotel is eclectic to say the least. Look at the pictures on the hotels website and you'll see what I mean. The restaurant attached to the hotel "The Red Owl Tavern" is good but very expensive ($16 for a breakfast sandwich. Granted it's a REALLY GOOD breakfast sandwich). There are several food trucks in the area that offer much cheaper alternatives. Make sure you have cash as most of the food trucks don't accept credit cards.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisC12013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
ChrisC12013 -

Sadly (happily?) I am not hipster enough to explain how we are not hipster and there's no need to worry about blending into the eclectic decor. Come as you are! We have brioche and thick hand-cut bacon sandwiches waiting for you. Thank you for staying with us. Now if you excuse me,I am going to hop on my fixed-gear bike whilst wearing skinny jeans, black rimmed glasses, and work on my thesis on the Overt Commercial Success of Tom Waits.

Seriously - hope to see you back soon!

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamison, Pa
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I work close to the Monaco and have been in the Red Owl Tavern many times and have visited the lobby many times and FINALLY, I had a good reason to stay downtown so I booked my reservation. It was as great as I hoped it would be. A nice, friendly checkin the desk attendant invited me to enjoy a glass of wine during their complimentary happy hour. I noted that they also had containers of ice tea and lemonade available as well.

I headed up to my room and it was fantastic. Beautiful linens, wonderful pillows, fluffy towels, nice ammenities and cool interior. It was a real pleasure. The bathroom was large and it had a nice full counter and large shower. I had just returned from two weeks of B&Bs in Ireland and this was such a welcome change of scenery. My favorite thing was the robe -- it was sweatshirt material -- and I absolutely must get one for home. And of course it was CLEAN CLEAN CLEAN. I didn't hear any street noise.

The hotel is right across the street from the Liberty Bell and Independence Hall. It's a short walk to the National Constitution Center.

It has a great rooftop bar and the Red Owl tavern is fantastic.

As a Philadelphia native, I cannot recommend this place strongly enough.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrismiller2523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, 14 November 2014
chrismiller2523 -

FINALLY is right! Thank you for finding a good reason to stay with us. Hopefully a few more opportunities will pop up soon. And you can buy our Rocky-inspired robe on line (or at the hotel...another reason to come back)!

Best -

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

I loved this hotel! The position to visit the City is perfect, the rooms are big and very clean, the rooftop offers very good drinks and soft atmosphere!
If i'll return in Philadelphia i'll absolutely check in here again! (Also the includes continental breakfast offers a lot of coiches!)

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gei89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, 14 November 2014
Gei89 -

Thanks for swinging by the Monaco on your holiday. Stratus is one of the best spots in town to grab a drink, glad you were able to check that out. Sounds like you had a nice package booked that included continental breakfast in Red Owl. Keep an eye out for those packages when booking because not every rate includes it.

Grazi -

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
769 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#10 of 85 in Philadelphia
3,177 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia
Address: 433 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2426 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing