We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia
Ranked #4 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Very clean,comfortable, and quiet. Great location in the historic district. We could see Independence mall from our room. We opted not to use their valet parking as we wanted to have our car to get around. Philadelphia has plenty of metered parking available, with most spots free between 10 PM and 8 AM. That said,for those who prefer not to use their car to get around, there's a parking lot right down the street or of course the hotel's valet service for a few dollars more.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JackFlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2014

JackFlynn -

The 4 "c"s! Clean, comfortable, convenient, and quiet (honorary c)...doesn't get better than hitting those. Good tips on the parking. There are a number of options given our location. Of course we prefer to be your number one choice, at the very least so you get more facetime Sean, T, Brad, and the other great guys on our door team. Thank you for choosing the Monaco.

Cheers -

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,774)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,638 - 1,644 of 2,774 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

We chose Hotel Monaco despite higher costs because of its design/aesthetic, its location for our needs and the reviews. When we checked in we had some minor issues but rolled up it was a less than stellar start to the trip. 1) When we got to our room our next door neighbor had deposited a garbage can with dirty diapers in the corner outside our room. This happened every day BTW. The hotel was slow to clean this up 2)We had planned to order room service when we arrived and had only 30 minutes before the kitchen closed. But when we arrived the dinner menu had been torn out of the cover it was in. When I called to ask for a new one so we could order before kitchen closed at first I was told it could not happen in time but after being firm one did come up fast. We ordered a hamburger that came with fries and chicken that came with grits. I asked if the grits could be replaced with the fries but was told no substitutions There was not much chicken for $27 and it was sitting in the grits which I do not like. There was no good reason a guest in a top tier room could not get fries instead of grits.

All of this just made me unhappy with my choice in hotel. I tweeted as such to Kimpton's Philadelphia feed. and to their credit the next morning a manager called to apologize. They offered to remove the room service charge from my bill (which was not done at checkout though - I had to let the front desk person know). They also sent up a very nice box of chocolates.

The hotel itself is very nice - our room was very very attractive which was part of the reason we chose it. The bed was very comfortable and despite the rooftop bar one floor above us and a loud chiming clock outside our room was very quiet.

We had brunch in the hotel restaurant which was amazingly fast - we were in and out in 20 minutes and the food was good.

All in all I would recommend this hotel as I think our issues were somewhat unique/rare but it is a more expensive option and can be a bit of a scene in the lobby area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eddielouie9892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2014

eddielouie9892 -

Definitely a rough start and not what we expect of ourselves, even if the issues are unique as you noted. Happily we were able to turn the frown upside down! I don't want this to sound ominous, but we're always listening on social media...so if it is not convenient for you to speak with a member of our staff, that is always an option to reach out. Hopefully you will reach out again for another stay in the future.

Regards -

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I surprised my grown daughter with a nights stay here when we were in town for a concert. This place is so cool. She described it as "an Alice in Wonderland themed hotel for adults" It really is unique. Everything about it was pleasing to the eye. I say that because everything was different from any other hotel I have stayed in! The food in the Red Owl tavern was delicious. After dinner we went up to the Stratus Rooftop Lounge, had a few drinks and watched a storm roll in! It was perfect! I would stay here again any time I was in Philly. This will be my "go to" hotel now. The entire place was spotless. I loved the things that were in the room such as a KITE! (For a price of course) But none the less, a kite?? Just quirky and fun! LOL Since it was a stormy day when we were there we kidded around about Ben Franklin and recreating his discovery of electricity!

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking Independence Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SharonO980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2014

SharonO980 -

Sounds like a lot of fun for you and your daughter. As you know, there are a lot of concerts always taking place nearby at Susquehanna Bank Center in Camden, not to mention some of the smaller nearby venues, so hopefully we will see you back more often. The kite is definitely a nod to our founding father Ol' Ben, but maybe we have to put a disclaimer on there!

Cheers -

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Very nice hotel with plenty of character. Wine tasting in the hotel lobby was super fun. The hotel restaurant, the Red Owl was excellent and casual. The location is fantastic. I could throw a stone from my hotel room window and hit independence Hall. Nice fitness room. Loved hearing the bell on Independence Hall tower ring.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2014

Mindy T -

Please don't throw stones at Independence Hall...the park rangers are a little sensitive about that sort of thing. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to see you again soon.

Happy travels -

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Amazing location!! We were right next to the Liberty Bell and had an awesome view of Independence Hall. Every staff members was courteous and hard working. The valet was great and interactive. Clean hotel with great security features to increase guest safety. Will definitely stay again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank MackBuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2014

MackBuffalo -

Thank you for choosing the Monaco on your trip to Philadelphia. Our doorman Brad is from Buffalo. Sorry you didn't have the opportunity to lament about the Bills with him while you were here. Hopefully you and the family will make your way down here again in the future.

Cheers -

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the elegant and finely appointed Kimpton Hotel Monaco. The service was excellent, and the happy hour between 5:00pm and 6:00pm was a nice touch!! I am a big fan of Kimpton Hotels, and Hotel Monaco lived up to their fine reputation. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2014

Paula D -

Thank you for staying with us on your trip to Philadelphia. We are always humbled to live up to the reputation that precedes us from your stays at other Kimpton Hotels. Our nightly wine reception is a lot of fun, and don't forget we have coffee in the morning to help get you going again for another day of sightseeing (or work if you must).

Safe travels -

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stayed for one night while traveling on tour. Rasheed went above and beyond assisting me with arranging reservations on a return trip home. Truly a wonderful boutique hotel. Close to dining, shopping, etc.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A33407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2014

A33407 -

Thank you for staying with us, however brief it was. Roshid is amazing (over any length of time).

Cheers -

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia
Sofitel Philadelphia
#9 of 88 in Philadelphia
3,400 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 88 in Philadelphia
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia

Address: 433 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2426 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range: £127 - £317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing