We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Historic Philadelphia-Once Upon a Nation Storytelling Benches
Ranked #82 of 438 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Bayville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fascinating to kids”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Wonderful story tellers- the kids enjoyed getting a star at each bench. Many included the kids in their stories and really kept their interest. Highly recommend.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    13
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
132 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great way to learn”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My kids have always been delighted by the in costume story tellers. They make history come alive. Entertainment not limited to children. Adult fun too. Special experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank minookajoe25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Engaging stories”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

What a brilliant idea! Hen visiting a historic spot, like the many locations in Philadelphia, I try to educate my kids as best I can in a way they will understand and show interest in. These story-telling benches did just that. The story-tellers were interesting and engaging, allowing our family to take part in the stories while they were being told. It was a nice repreive to enjoy a few minutes to sit and listen after walking around seeing the sights. Great idea!
While we didnt collect the stckers at each bench, I think that is a fun way for kids to want to travel arou d the old town so they can earn a sticker for each bench they visit.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank canuckgrl06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
205 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Living history”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This is just another way that Philadelphia went beyond expectations. Our son is 11 but we all enjoyed the stories and the storytellers, who were a wealth of information! Take the time to do this-it is worth it... and you get to sit and rest!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank slrv61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Free storytelling while you rest on a park bench”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Dynamic storytellers bring history to life with interesting, short stories. Just long enough to sit and rest on a shaded bench, revitalize, and move on. Great idea!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Historic Philadelphia-Once Upon a Nation Storytelling Benches also viewed

 

Been to Historic Philadelphia-Once Upon a Nation Storytelling Benches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing