We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Way To Sneak In Some History”

Historic Philadelphia-Once Upon a Nation Storytelling Benches
Ranked #77 of 433 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice Way To Sneak In Some History”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We sat through two of these little stories - great way to take a break and hear a small bit of history. The story tellers are quite talented - they do a great job with engaging the kids around them. A fun little stop on your way between the big historic sights.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank BKDSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    13
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“No one around.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We were in the Historic area on a Sunday in August. Saw the benches but no one was telling stories. The signs said 11-4 daily so we were disapointed.

Helpful?
Thank Sheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
State College, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
73 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Find these early if you have kids!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We didn't find these benches until late in the day on our second day of touring Philly. They were amazing! The storytellers share personalized history with the audience (not just kids) that you often won't hear in the formal historical setting. It was a nice break to stop and hear a story about life during the Revolution.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayville
2 reviews
“Fascinating to kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Wonderful story tellers- the kids enjoyed getting a star at each bench. Many included the kids in their stories and really kept their interest. Highly recommend.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
131 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great way to learn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

My kids have always been delighted by the in costume story tellers. They make history come alive. Entertainment not limited to children. Adult fun too. Special experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank minookajoe25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Historic Philadelphia-Once Upon a Nation Storytelling Benches also viewed

 

Been to Historic Philadelphia-Once Upon a Nation Storytelling Benches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing