We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-head the story telling”

Historic Philadelphia-Once Upon a Nation Storytelling Benches
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Over-head the story telling”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Mostly for kids - but I overhead the story telling. I was impressed. If I brought my kids, i would have probably rated this higher. Being a casual onlooker this time - I think this is an excellent idea to teach kids history through story telling.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank socket370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    13
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice Way To Sneak In Some History”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We sat through two of these little stories - great way to take a break and hear a small bit of history. The story tellers are quite talented - they do a great job with engaging the kids around them. A fun little stop on your way between the big historic sights.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank BKDSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“No one around.”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We were in the Historic area on a Sunday in August. Saw the benches but no one was telling stories. The signs said 11-4 daily so we were disapointed.

Helpful?
Thank Sheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
State College, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
73 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Find these early if you have kids!!!!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We didn't find these benches until late in the day on our second day of touring Philly. They were amazing! The storytellers share personalized history with the audience (not just kids) that you often won't hear in the formal historical setting. It was a nice break to stop and hear a story about life during the Revolution.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fascinating to kids”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Wonderful story tellers- the kids enjoyed getting a star at each bench. Many included the kids in their stories and really kept their interest. Highly recommend.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Historic Philadelphia-Once Upon a Nation Storytelling Benches also viewed

 

Been to Historic Philadelphia-Once Upon a Nation Storytelling Benches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing