We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bottomless Bellinis!”
Review of Red Owl Tavern

Red Owl Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Red Owl Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #42 of 4,369 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Corner of 5th & Chestnut
Transit: Market East Station - When exiting the station walk East on Market Street until you reach 5th street. Make a right onto Chestnut St. For additional directions please see http://www.monaco-philadelphia.com/map/index.html
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bottomless Bellinis!”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed at the Monaco for a quick weekend getaway. Tried the Red Owl for brunch and sat at the bar. Pete, the bartender was great and quite the beer connoisseur! Loved the huevos rancheros and of course the bottomless bellinis made with fresh fruit juices (5 to pick from). Will definitely come back with more friends and more time!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pezz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie P, General Manager at Red Owl Tavern, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thanks so much for the great review! We're so glad that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and Red Owl Tavern, and can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    321
    101
    33
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
112 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, but I've had better in Philly”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We were looking for someplace for brunch on Easter. We waited too long to make reservations at a restaurant that we like for brunch, but the Red Owl Tavern had an opening.

The restaurant has great atmosphere. The menu was not big, but it did have enough options for everyone. We had the hummus to share; it was good and came with a roasted red pepper and feta cheese compote. Things started to go south when we waited almost half an hour for our food. People who came in after us got their food before us, so we were not happy. When the food finally arrived, it was good. My nephew got the steak and eggs which he said was great. My husband got the Red Owl omelet which had the filling (prosciutto, asparagus and greens) on top of the omelet instead of inside. He also said it was good. However, unlike most other restaurants, toast is not included with egg dishes and a side order of toast was $5.00.

I don't know if we'll be back here for brunch or another meal when there are restaurants close by that have a larger menu and better service (and toast).

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K8TF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie P, General Manager at Red Owl Tavern, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thanks so much for joining us with your family on Easter. We're so sorry that you experienced a long wait time, but we're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your food. We hope that you'll join us again and give us another opportunity to show you the great service and hospitality that we strive to provide to all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central, NJ
Level Contributor
214 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Decent Food and Prices”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

An okay place to eat for those looking for basic bar-food. In a food city like Philadelphia though, there are many more exciting choices.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank joylama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie P, General Manager at Red Owl Tavern, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thanks so much for joining us! We know you have a lot of options when choosing where to dine in Philadelphia and we're so glad you chose Red Owl Tavern. We hope that you'll come back and give us the opportunity to wow and excite you. Any time you'd like to stop in please give us a call!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great find for lunch”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

After spending the morning and early afternoon walking around Philadelphia, my girlfriend and I were getting hungry. After finishing a tour of Independence Hall, we saw the Red Owl Tavern and decided to try it....and we are so glad we did. It was a Saturday afternoon with an hour+ wait for tables, but the bar was wide open and was fine for us. I ordered their smoked salmon while my girlfriend had a delicious market salad. Food was very good. Bloody Mary's are a must and are made with a great kick to them here. Terriffic find in Philly!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank worldbusiness04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie P, General Manager at Red Owl Tavern, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thanks so much for stopping in! We're so glad you found us while touring the City of Brotherly Love! I'm sorry we couldn't get you a table, but I'm so happy that you enjoyed our Bloody Marys at the bar! Any time you find yourself back In Philly please be sure to stop in- we'll have a spicy Bloody Mary waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
199 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Breakfast to start the day”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We were staying at hotel Monaco so visited on day one for a breakfast to get us going, coffee lovely and french toast and pancakes delicious.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank windy1875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie P, General Manager at Red Owl Tavern, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
We're so happy that you could join us during your stay at Hotel Monaco! We hope that your time spent in our beautiful city was enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Owl Tavern also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Red Owl Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing