We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Neighborhood Gem”

Mekong River Restaurant
Ranked #1,496 of 4,359 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Gem”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Had a great dinner with out of town guests this past weekend. Very clean and welcoming. The menu is huge, pictures included for several items which helps if you are not familiar with Vietnamese food.We enjoyed the spring rolls & shrimp to start which were crisp and flavorful with excellent dipping sauces. Entrees were huge, spiced nicely and very filling we chose beef fish and chicken items with a combination of vegetables and lemongrass. There is a good selection of beer and a few wines by the glass. Will definitely go back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank phillyswans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    10
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
90 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice place, good food and service!”
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed lunch of Shrimp Pad Thai, my brother liked his Beef Broccoli Noodles. Service was attentive. They also have bar with FlatScreen tv's.

Helpful?
Thank vista4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very good food and great service”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Had dinner at this new Vietnamese restaurant with my family. The menu is somewhat intimidating with about 100 pictures of the culinary delights served at this new restaurant. The food was very good and reasonably inexpensive and the service was excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coach3415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Mekong River Restaurant Review”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I was pleasantly surprised when I walked into this local neighborhood Vietnamese restaurant. Initially, I noticed the wafting smell of fish sauce, with its heavy aroma; its pungent smell permeated and intoxicated me!
I received a warm greeting the moment I entered the eatery. I was also presented with a hot pot of tea and a smile. The decor is average with an inviting color scheme with calming shades of caramel upon the trendy exposed brick walls. I also noticed numerous local diners from the community; exactly what you want to see in a restaurant!
My meal began with crispy spring rolls accompanied by lightly pickled, crinkle cut carrots & parsnip medley, crisp and cold in contrast with the steaming hot spring rolls. For my dipping pleasure, a spicy fish & ginger sauce with shredded parsnips and carrots had me dancing in my chair. The parsnips were my favorite, crispy and full of flavor!
My main course was Bun Thit Nuong (charbroiled beef on rice vermicelli), a soup full of flavor assembled from lemongrass and fish sauce, a creative yet simple, fragrant and tasty dish. Dessert was fried bananas wrapped in thin wonton wrappers, deep fried and served with French vanilla ice cream…yum!
The food was satisfying; however repetitive use of the same vegetables; predominately carrots, onions, green peppers and fish sauce was somewhat boring. Culinary ennui is no joking matter!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChefJacquie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Nice and clean”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Nice and very clean friendly staffs nice atmosphere good foods overall good . I bring my family here all the times ,easy parking good location !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sonny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mekong River Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mekong River Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing