We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, sleek look but a bit spooky at night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Ranked #13 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, sleek look but a bit spooky at night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Our family stayed here two nights. We were easily able to walk to various locations in Center City and the Historic District. Also extremely convenient to subway, trolley and bus lines. We also stopped by the Reading Terminal Market in the morning to get some very large, fresh pieces of fruit--a treat!

The hotel itself isn't set up so much for families--more for hip, technologically savvy singles or couples. The only available room for the 5 of us was a studio suite, which was adequate (2 queens and a comfy sofabed) but there wasn't a ton of extra room. On the plus side, the vending machines on every floor sold soda pop for a very reasonable price!!

The breakfast selection was adequate but the seating areas themselves were often very crowded--there is a lot of unused open space...more thought should be put into setting up more seating. Even some of the current seating options do not work for children, as they are too high up.

The exercise area is beautiful and overlooks the (very small) swim area. Dipped my feet into the pool, which was enjoyable, but the very small size of the pool discouraged my kids from wanting to even go in at all.

The Wifi worked well but the connections on the desktop computers were spotty. This has been my experience with all of the computers on the Hilton networks in other locations, all of which use the same system.

The staff made a point of warning me about when we would need our keys to enter the building (after 8 pm). During the day, the area outside the hotel is fine but I would not want to linger outside with younger kids or if traveling alone (and female)...a bit on the creepy side.

But overall, an excellent value--not easy to find a sleek hotel in Center City that can fit 5 into one room, free internet, breakfast, along with a great location...that won't break the bank.

Room Tip: Park your car at the PPA lot (1540 Vine, entrance on 16th south of Vine). It costs only $18 a day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tzyoam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    711
    410
    130
    44
    28
See reviews for
448
232
55
399
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed for five nights. The experience was very good. The housekeeping staff was extremely helpful and pleasant. The size of the room was perfect for our needs. Will stay at this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RozW631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Big bang for the buck. Rooms are spacious, well equipped and clean. Glad you have queen beds and not doubles. Breakfast was plentiful and healthy. Free WiFi that actually worked was a nice bonus. Staff was friendly and helpful. Parking in adjacent lot was easy although pricey but you are in a downtown location which is to be expected. Only complaint is that the convention of people were allowed to loiter in front of the hotel. There were literally 100's of them they were loud and completely trashed the streets in front of the hotel. Broken liquor bottles, soda and beer cans and food trash was thrown everywhere.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingFamily416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

I am writing this tonight after an experience where I felt my concern was not acknowledged by management. If you knew me you would know I never complain in fact, I do not even send bad food back when it's served to me. I flew I to PHL today for work, I had requested early checkin which I am grateful I got! I checked in upon my arrival from airport to hotel around 150pm, dropped my luggage of and quickly left to go to work down the street. When I returned around 6pm I quickly changed and left again for dinner. When I arrived that second time is when I noticed the room was not that clean. As a frequent guest of Hilton this did not settle well, the floors were very sticky and even the bathroom countertops and kitchenette area counters were dirty. The kicker was when I returned from dinner and was able to examine the room...there was poop stains in toilet, and the rugs had visibly not been vacuumed. When I say on edge of bed (still clothed and shoes on, I looked down and there was a safety pin wide open on the ground right by side of bed, and on night table was stains from someone's coffee or pop but not from me. The other bed had a spot that looked like someone had sat there (not me). I wen downstairs and showed Nicole the pictures she was VERY apologetic and immediately booked me into another room after seeing the pictures I had to share with her. She acknowledged that her co worker was Angela her supervisor and spoke loudly enough to say that I was u happy Angela a one point while tending to her customer looked up and Nicole said to her I had pictures and I was not happy with my room. I waited to take Angela up with me to show her but Nicole suggested i go back up to pack to move to my new room and that Angela would be up to take a look... I waited a good 20-25 min then called front desk. Angela answered I asked if she was Nicole she said boldly No I said oh ok are you the manager? She said yeah...I said oh good are you coming up to take a look at my room? She said I'm by myself I can't just leave to go look I said shockingly ok, I was just down there with Nicole I'm the one she told you about that was unhappy with her room she said she didn't tell me anything. I'll send security. My point is, as a manager, where is the empathy? Acknowledge that I was distraught and I was definitely not rude in return just perturbed and tired...I am grateful for Nicole's empathy and acknowledgement. As a Hilton honors member, I am disappointed with Angela's lack of...I guess it's time to rack up my Marriott rewards....

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
7 Thank Nadia Nadeau S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

The price and the size of the studio room is good, but the no existence of a bath tub in the room was a big disappointment for me, topping with no sauna and no steam room to go to as well. Did not ask if they have a swimming pool coz it isn't my cup of tea. For the folks that like to take a nice salted water hot bubble bath with theraputic concoction after a long day of activities to enhance a great sleep must find another hotel to stay. Stayed three nights and can't wait to check out.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nolling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

This hotel made us feel like Kings and Queens for a fair price! Everything was clean and professional. The kids enjoyed the pool while I relaxed in the spacious room that did not make me feel claustrophobic. The breakfast was like a buffet with a variety of food. I will come back to this place again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Home2 Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

The staff was friendly and very helpful. Didn't have parking, and we had to park on an open lot a few blocks away, Location was great near the Reading market and transportation, Buffet breakfast was hot and cold as needed. Staff assistance was valuable. Enjoyed the tiny kitchen.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,702 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#20 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
#42 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA

Property: Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Address: 1200 Arch St, Philadelphia, PA 19107-2816
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA 2.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eat, sleep, relax and work at the Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia – Convention Center, PA hotel and enjoy the next best thing to being at home. The studio suite comprises one large room while the one bedroom suite offers the flexibility of extra space, a separate living area and private bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing