We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value in the Heart of Center City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Ranked #13 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I stayed in this hotel with my wife and young son for two nights last weekend for a vacation getaway in Philadelphia. I highly recommend this hotel. The location is outstanding and central to all the Center City sights - Chinatown, Old City, and Society Hill are within easy walking distance in one direction and City Hall, Rittenhouse Square, and the museums are within easy walking distance in the other direction. It is right across the street from the Convention Center and the Reading Terminal Market. We left our car in the parking garage during our entire stay and walked everywhere. I thought the price we paid -- $123.50 per night with AAA discount -- was very reasonable for a downtown hotel on a summer weekend and it was certainly cheaper -- in most cases significantly cheaper -- than all the other hotels we looked at in the area. Parking is not included in the rate and it is $35 per day in the garage next door (typical for the area).

The hotel building itself is only a year old and it shows. Both our room and the common areas felt fresh, modern, and clean. Granted, this is not a luxury hotel and the room decor felt a bit spartan and Ikea-like, but the room was very well-designed and perfect for our needs. Our room was called a studio suite and while it was not divided into separate rooms it was quite large for a city hotel room. The room included a kitchenette with a refrigerator/freezer, microwave, sink, dishwasher, and dishes and silverware. It also included a couch and a huge flat screen TV that could be viewed from either the couch or the bed. The bed itself was very comfortable and we slept just fine. The rooms must be well-insulated because we heard absolutely no sounds from any of the surrounding rooms either night and very minimal noise from the hallway. Traveling with a 13-month-old poses challenges, and we especially liked the curtain we could pull across the room between the "living-room" area and the bed, which enabled us to read in bed with the light on after our son had gone to bed in his pack-and-play. One less convenient feature of the room for us was the lack of a bathtub -- it is difficult giving a bath to a young child in a shower.

The rate included wi-fi and breakfast. The breakfast was just fine in my opinion, although not a full hot breakfast. The only hot options were waffles or cheese omelettes and ham & cheese frittatas that could be heated in microwaves. There were also the typical continental breakfast offerings of juice, yogurt, oatmeal, cereal, bagels, a couple types of fruit, etc. The offerings did not vary much for the two days we were there. We got down to breakfast early both mornings and had no problems with the area being too crowded, food running out, finding a table, etc. Perhaps this could be a problem for those who eat breakfast later, as other reviews have indicated. The mix of people in the breakfast room indicated that the hotel caters heavily to families with younger children.

Finally, I was very pleased with the service at this hotel. When I reserved online, I requested early check-in, and when we arrived at the hotel two hours before standard check-in time, our room was already ready for us. Check-in and check-out were both very quick and efficient, and all the staff we spoke with during our stay were extremely friendly and helpful. One of the features of this hotel chain is that the rooms are not cleaned on weekends unless it is in between guests, but we called to request that our trash be emptied since we had dirty diapers in the trash can, and the staff not only did so but also made up our beds and did other light cleaning, which we appreciated.

If you're looking for luxury or historical ambience, then check out the many hotels in the city that offer them. If you're looking for a clean, modern, amenity-filled hotel in a location convenient to all the downtown sights at a reasonable price, then Home2 Suites is a great choice.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheDawg89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,619)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,175 - 1,181 of 1,619 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed here last night & our stay was good (not great). We arrived for a late check-in & had to be buzzed in by desk staff due to the late hour (understandable). We parked our car in the adjacent parking garage ($35) & it's a short elevator ride/walk to the hotel's front entrance on 12th Street. Our first impressions of the hotel were very positive with the bright, neat & open lobby area. There was a busy internet area, small snack-for-purchase area & the gentleman that checked us in seemed friendly; however, he seemed like he was in a rush which was fine because it was late. We were given our keycards which must be swiped in the elevator to reach your floor. Arriving in our room on the 6th floor, the room had a weird smell. We were not sure what the smell was, but not a big deal. Once we turned on the AC (which cooled the room extremely fast), all was well. We had a queen studio which was really quite large & looked exactly like the online photo. The shower was amazing (no bathtub); bed was comfortable enough (I've experienced better), however, there were a couple of small stains on the white top cover. The small side table & radio next to the bed were a bit dusty, but again, not a big deal, just needs a little more attention from Housekeeping. The radio display was not lit, so couldn't glance over to see the time in the dark; however, the flat screen tv had great reception considering that the location is in downtown Philly with lots of tall buildings. We didn't take advantage of the Keurig machine/coffee, but think it's a nice touch in the room. There was shampoo & body wash available via dispensers in the shower; but, no small bottles of lotion and/or conditioner that are usually found on bathroom counters. Overall, our stay was fine, but a little more attention to detail wouldn't hurt. Pros: location close to Reading Terminal Market/other restaurants/stores, great view overlooking 12th Street, large room & bright cheery hotel decor. Cons: Housekeeping's lack of detail.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking 12th Street/view of Reading Terminal Market
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quietgirl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My wife and I were in Philadelphia for a convention in mid-July. We were extremely happy with the location of this hotel. It was within a block of the convention center and right across the street was the Reading Market. Amenities included salt water pool, fridge in room, microwave, free breakfast. We were able to do laundry , swim, eat , and attend our meetings all within a single block. Great eats at Reading Terminal. Room was very basic and very efficient.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Johnandlaura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night. The room is a bit larger than a regular room in other hotels, but it's not a suite. Very modern design hotel. The breakfast is included, has a lot of choices, but the breakfast area is small and very crowed. Absolutely amazing service! The best service I've seen. Very quick check in and check out. Great location.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank adrakadabra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Very nice and clean hotel with a very courteous staff. We had 2 kids and one pre-teen who loved the pool even though it was small and loved the FREE WiFi. Very nice work out area that I didn't get to try but was very impressed. This hotel is right accross from Reading Terminal which had an abundance of food to try and right down the street from Hard Rick Cafe. I had a little bit of a hard time sleeping as I could never get comfortable on the mattress but it was okay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Home2 Suites by Hilton
Thank Melissa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We just returned from our stay at the Home 2 Suites in Philadelphia. The concept is very much that of a Homewood Suites, just with a more modern approach. The room lay out does seem a bit odd at first, but then you realize just how much space you have. We were in the one bedroom queen suite and it was more than spacious. The location of the hotel is a bonus as well. With the Reading Terminal Market directly across the street you are steps away from a great experience. The hotel has a lovely courtyard out front so you can bring your meal back and dine outside, or simple watch the people. Also, because of the Market there are several tour bus companies who stop right at your door step if you chose to use that service. The parking garage is next door and was well lit, very clean and felt very safe. The hotel mentions a $40.00 overnight fee, we chose to go it on our own and only paid $35.00 directly to the garage. The breakfast area is disappointment. The layout was very poor planning on Hilton's part,there are 4 microwaves in the middle of the buffet, which causes a back up in the flow as well as a fair bit of confusion as to how you are to proceed through the crowd. The microwaves to heat your drinks are below knee level and very awkward and uncomfortable to use while everyone is trying to walk around you. Hilton would be much better served if they just offered food that was hot and ready to go,the line would flow with ease. The food was disappointing as well, heating up eggs in a brown paper bag does not hold much appeal. I would not let the breakfast deter you from staying here as the hotel offers so much, the best being the location and ease of walking to most locations of interest or easy access to public transportation. We will definitely stay here on our next visit to Philly.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank pm1045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Had a great few day stay here in June. 1st time to Philly and loved the location. Rooms were exactly as described online. Tons of space and a great bed. The concept of Home2Suites really works well and being a new property, we had no issues with any of the services. The only hitch we encountered was we had pre paid for our trip but got charged again which the hotel was very good to rectify.

The location right across the street from the market was a huge plus. If you are a foodie - you'll have a blast.

And if you are looking for a great restaurant in Philly - you have to go to Zahav. It was the best meal/experience we've had in a long while. Truly a memorable meal.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank takemefaraway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center East
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
#42 of 88 in Philadelphia
3,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA

Address: 1200 Arch St, Philadelphia, PA 19107-2816
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range: £100 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA 2.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eat, sleep, relax and work at the Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia – Convention Center, PA hotel and enjoy the next best thing to being at home. The studio suite comprises one large room while the one bedroom suite offers the flexibility of extra space, a separate living area and private bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Prestigia, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing