We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“taste of home...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Penang Malaysian Cuisine

Penang Malaysian Cuisine
Ranked #194 of 4,265 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Asian, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: City Center East
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
572 reviews
406 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“taste of home...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Being Malaysian students in US this place was a godsend. The only thing stopping us from frequenting it would be the prices. However whenever we have that craving that just can't be ignored, we end up here.

They have very good Malaysian cuisine. Almost true to the original back home. Not to be missed would be the curry mee, roti canai, char kway teow, lobak & beef rendang. Come to think of it almost everything is lovely.

Atmosphere wise it can get real noisy as it is a small place and almost always packed but that doesn't really bother many. Service is good & attentive. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank poopshooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    79
    28
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
syracuse, ny
Level Contributor
77 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good food in Chinatown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Stopped in here for some "Chinese" in the middle of Chinatown, and did not realize it was a Malaysian restaurant. We decided to try it anyway, and we were not disappointed. After looking over the extensive menu, we picked out the Basil Chicken and Basil Beef dishes, with a side order of white rice. It was a very enjoyable dinner, and the price was reasonable.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank grandpa38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

This is the second time I have eaten at Penang after visiting the Phila Flower Show. Both times
I had a great meal.
Don't miss the #1
Appetizer with the delicious crepe and Chicken curry dipping sauce or the mango chicken entree, both super with Tiger beer.

Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morrisville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
125 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Group Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

A group of us went to Penang while in town for a library conference, and we had a great experience! It was my first time there, but others in the group had been before. I enjoyed the atmosphere as well as the prompt service! I had the vegetable spring rolls, a larger portion than I expected, and the chicken with ginger and scallion rice, both yummy! I was pleasantly surprised by the check at the end of the meal. Very high value here! I would definitely go again!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dukefan86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldan, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great service great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Three friends and myself visited this restaurant last week. Food was wonderful and servings were ample. Staff could not do enough for us. Brought a botte of wine with us no problem, no cost to open. Menu was so extensive and prices reasonable. Can't wait to revisit.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank becky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Penang Malaysian Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Penang Malaysian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing