We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SUPERIOR”
Review of Morimoto

Morimoto
Reserve with OpenTable
Morimoto is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 4,359 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$41 - US$80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: City Center East
Cross street: Between 7th & 8th on Chestnut Street
Transit: Route 47 bus – Chestnut Street stop.
cincinnati
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“SUPERIOR”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

If you love Japanese cuisine as we do...this a MUST!!.. The food is absolutely delicious.... The ambiance is beautiful and engaging. Our server "Daniel J" was attentive, knowledgeable and fun! If you are in Philly and you miss this wonderful dining experience...shame on you! This restaurant will has been ranked as a "favorite" in They sent a special surprise to celebrate our anniversary...Thanks and see you again in a few months.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank godivachocolate2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    523
    176
    80
    32
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reisterstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Food is to DIE For!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

While you will surely pay for good food, it is SO worth it! The best thing about this place is the Omakase - a must try if you go. It is a several course meal of the chef's choosing. Every course is a delight in the mouth - an experience I will never forget.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank moonphases
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmhurst, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Japanese place”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The decor was very fancy. Won't have known that it was a restaurant unless someone told us. The dry aged steak was so good, my daughter who is picky ate most of it and didn't leave me a bite.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank gibbonn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“So delicious I wouldn't share!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

In honor of my now-husband's completion of his doctoral thesis, we splurged on an Omakase dinner at Morimoto. Our menus were largely different (catering to our dietary preferences) but we still could have shared bites. However, our meals were so delectable that we wanted to hoard and gobble them up by ourselves. :) While each dish was spectacular in taste, presentation and creativity, the shining star for me (a non-dessert lover) was the coffee gelee served with coconut ice cream and topped with warm whiskey. I swoon at the thought of it! I cannot wait for another momentous occasion to return for the pricey (but justifiably so) meal. Or, perhaps, happy hour today!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pleasantchaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
159 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Excellant food and atmosphere”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

For the most past, we were really wowed by this restaurant. The decor and its changing colors is so much fun; cool, clean and contemporary! We enjoyed the scallops appetizer and absolutely loved the sushi! Granted, this place is expensive, but if you want something this special it comes at a price.

After a fabulous meal we were a little disappointed in the dessert. I'm not sure of the name of it but it was on a dark chocolate crumb crust with a filling like a whipped pudding. Pretty bland and quite a disappointment. If you are looking for a special experience then check out this restaurant. Just note, enjoy the fabulous sushi and appetizers but proceed with caution when it comes to dessert!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LifesaBanquet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Morimoto also viewed

 

Been to Morimoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing