We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BYOB Charmer in Old City”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chloe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chloe
Ranked #747 of 4,341 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: US$18 - US$40
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: City Center East
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BYOB Charmer in Old City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Right across the street from the Betsy Ross house is this small, BYOB, cash only restaurant with delicious food.The standard menu is great, but every night there is a list of wonderful specials on the blackboard. Try the ragu over pappardelle, the smoked trout plate garnished with horseradish cream and giant capers, the grilled caesar salad. Everthing is wonderful. The restaurant is open only Wednesday-Saturday and does not take reservations. Come for a cozy evening of wonderful food.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lorraineNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    14
    2
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rydal, PA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Did not live up to reputation”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

Chloe is a small BYOB in Old City. The room is nice, but it became uncomfortably loud as it filled up since there is nothing the absorb sound. The food was average to below average. The place that seems to be popular perhaps because they make it very clear that they don't take reservations, which I think increases the interest level of the patrons. Chole certainly did not do anything special. In fact, our main courses were not good. We were in a group of 6. The salads and appetizers were good. The salmon was dry and charred ("grilled" was advertised), the lamb and ravioli were fair, as judged by our dining companions. Our group meets for dinner 5 times a year, and this is the first "miss" that we have experienced.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank speechmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wow, this food was GOOD!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

Reading some of the reviews from 2005, I can only surmise that there has been a big change ... this was one of the best meals I've eaten out in a long time! Yummy. The humous they brought (not ordered, just a little treat) was light and tasty, not overly garlic or pasty like some I've had), the asian shrimp appetizer was very fresh and the scallop entree was perfect. They now take credit cards. Alcohol - byob. Our hosts stopped to put in our name before picking us up and returning, so the wait was not too long. Small place and cozy - the chef came out to say hello -- possibly our hosts are regulars and so we got special treatment? An overall delight!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank lovestotravel2z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

This was our first time dining at Chloe, and after hearing so many good things we were not disappointed. The food was cooked to perfection. As an appetizer, we split a scallop entree and they were cooked beautifully: seared but not burnt or overcooked in the centers. My husband the had lobster and shrimp bisque, which we very nice, though not as good as my seared peach and arugela salad. He then had scrumptious lamb kabobs on minted couscous, while I had spicy Thai shrimp. Again, perfectly cooked seafood. We each ordered dessert, a rarity, but everything else was so good we didn't want to forgo a course. My husband had the flourless chocolate torte, almost as good as my own, and I had AWESOME chocolate mouse pie with a crushed oreo crust and perfectly made whipped cream. It was sprinkled with finely chopped nuts and more crushed oreo, a lovely touch that added more texture and taste. No need to tell you we'll be going back to Chloe soon.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Lynn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

Everything we had was excellent! We kept raving about the sauces, trying to figure out how they were made, and our wonderful waitress wouldn't divulge the ingredients. Chloe is a terrific BYOB restaurant!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank segRhodeIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chloe also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Chloe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing