We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thirty Years, still a great place”
Review of Casselli's Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Casselli's Restaurant
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
106 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Thirty Years, still a great place”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We've been coming here for well over 30 years and haven't had a bad meal yet. Tonight we both had specials: crab cakes for her, surf & turf for me, which followed our usual martinis and steamers in white sauce. If anything it seems better every time we come back. Reasonably priced, but cash only. A great place in the neighborhood!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank STEPHEN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    0
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“What a great place!!”
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We love it at Casselli's. Family owned and the service is top notch. They have a bar so they do serve liquor and the food is soooo good. Italian, my favorite. They have a singer who is pretty good. We love to support local businesses and this place is the best.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrstemplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Always a great meal”
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We live in the neighborhood, and go to Casselli's regularly. The food is always delicious. The specials are reasonably priced as are items on the menu. Seafood specials are especially good. Service is pleasant. There is a singer after 7:00. He is very good, but perhaps a bit too loud for such a small place. It is not a fancy place, but the food will have you coming back.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhiladelphiaHelene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Italian Gem”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We frequent Casselli's usually once a month - this is a little Italian Gem. Food is excellent and they have special 5 course meal for $20 from Tues. - Thurs.
If you go try to get Joe as your server - attentive, knows the menu and dry sense of humor.
They have entertainment, which is usually a piano player/singer or singer with pre-recorded music - both are good and it creates nice vibe in the place.
This is a place you will go back to time and time again.
It is a little tight for big parties, but ideal for groups of 2 - 4.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zedo-Jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Pretty horrible”
Reviewed 5 May 2011

The guy that sings was good but didn't make up for all the horrible food (even the bread was bad). We sat inbetween two other couples... way too close. Would have put up with that if the food was at least edible. Will not be returning

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JMF23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casselli's Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing