We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting and diverse Afghan/Indian food; friendly atmosphere”
Review of Kabul Restaurant

Kabul Restaurant
Ranked #449 of 4,359 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$12
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Afghani, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: City Center East
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
198 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Interesting and diverse Afghan/Indian food; friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Our meal met our expectations even though some of the other reviews(on other sites) were less than sterling.
We found the lentil soup especially tasty and spiced just right.
The vegetarian entree was very good and a large amount of rice. The lamb kabobs were nice and spicy albeit a tad overcooked, accompanied by brown rice.
Our window seat afforded us a nice view of the passers-by. The interesting interior decoration features a variety of Afghanistan-based items such as vests and other items of clothing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    35
    14
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great Afghan Food!”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

My first experience of traditional Afghanie food and it was great. Service was attentive and quick and the food was delicious. Will definitely be returning!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leanne590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
196 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Food was delicious...decor could use an upgrade”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I was in Philly for a weekend for my birthday, and I was looking for a restaurant unlike anything in my hometown. Kabul had good reviews, and the menu looked great, so we gave it a try around 6 p.m. on a Saturday. It was not crowded, so we were immediately seated.

Overall, the food was very good and the service was fine. We had appetizers, main courses, and dessert. The portions were large, and the prices were average.

The only downsides were that the restaurant was a little too dark and I felt like everything was very dated...the tables, chairs, dishware, etc., all looked like they could use an upgrade. My water glass was an elaborate crystal-looking goblet (with lipstick marks on it).

All in all, though, the quality of the food warrants its good reviews.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorndale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Something Different and Worth A Try”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I chose this restaurant because of a Restaurant.com certificate, the reviews on it's web site, and wanting to try something different; Afghan cuisine. I enjoyed the authentic ambiance of the restaurant. The food was tasty, the service friendly and my friends were pleasantly surprised with a new culinary experience. The prices were reasonable, the menu had variety and the servings were just enough to fill you without feeling like you over indulged. I would definitely go again.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank KMA_Adventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Apps were amazing”
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Found this through groupon and that alone made it worth it. It was a little out of the way but near Old City so we went after sight seeing.

Service was good. We bought a bottle of wine from the liquor store nearby on 2nd street and our server brought out a corkscrew and glasses right away.

We ordered two appetizers, feta in a pastry and chickpeas and potatoes in a pastry. They were so good I could've eaten two orders of each.

The main courses were mediocre but not bad. I got sautéed pumpkin, my boyfriend got lamb. The pumpkin was definitely better but starting off on a high point with the apps made it a bit disappointing.

Good for a date. I wouldn't mind going again.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kabul Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kabul Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing