We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very tasty food, friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kabul Restaurant

Kabul Restaurant
Ranked #466 of 4,341 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$12
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Afghani, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: City Center East
Vineland, New Jersey
Level Contributor
175 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“very tasty food, friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

We came here on a Thursday evening, early, in order to make it to the Arden theater by 8 p.m. We were able to find parking in the street nearby, and had a leisurely walk to Kabul, which is a BYOB. We were the first patrons, were greeted warmly and enjoyed the genuine-looking decor. The food was delicious, and we will definitely return in the future to try some of their meat dishes. We are only eating vegan right now. For appetizers we had the Afghani samosas, deep-fried vegetable filling in a dough. We also had a pumpkin filling in ravioli-type appetizer. Both were very tasty. Then we were served a salad with a house dressing, which had a hint of mint. Different but delicious. And for our entres, I had a brown rice with dal, a yellow lentil type of sauce, which was excellent, and proved tastier (to us) than my husband's sweet saffron rice with a spinach sauce. But we took what was left of his rice home, and enjoyed it today. For dessert, we decided to try their Afghan specialty -- a carrot cake, which seemed like a regular American carrot cake, except that it was drenched in two sauces, which gave it an exotic taste. I forget the one, but the other was rose water. If you like food that is not your run-of-the-mill diner food, Kabul is definitely an authentic (at least to our eyes, since there were patrons there conversing in what seemed like the waitstaff's native tounge) place worthy of a visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nitvoyodelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    33
    14
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
155 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Delicious and different food, with gracious ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

On a recent Saturday night, we went to Kabul. Lucked out and got street parking right in front of the restaurant (street parking fee charged up until 10pm). The 3 of us were warmly greeted by Kabul's owner or manager (not sure which) and seated. The restaurant, which is small and subtly lit (could still easily read the menu), was not crowded but comfortably busy. Decor is nothing exciting--it's 'homegrown Afghani' decor, nice enough atmosphere. If you're flexible (literally), choose the 'traditional' low table with cushions to recline on in the back--it's a larger table but it was not occupied during our visit.

The menu is fairly extensive, and turns out that the portions are 'right-sized'--not huge American 'fill your plate to overflowing', but not tiny portions either. We started with the yellow lentil soup, which was tasty and thick with pureed lentils, perfect starter for a cold winter's night. Complimentary salads came with each of our entrees. We tried the Kebab Sampler (chicken, lamb, beef balls) which was very tasty and a lot of food. The lamb was a bit dry but the chicken was moist and sweet. The Bandenjen e burgh, chicken with eggplant, tomatoes and onions was excellent, with enough eggplant to satisfy us eggplant lovers. The Korma e Saib, from the weekend menu, was the best entree, with sautéed apples and onions and lots of chicken. Comforting and mouth-pleasing. The saffron rice (choice of saffron or white) that came with our dishes was fragrant and delicious.

Kabul is a BYOB, no corkage fee. The owner/manager stopped by a few times to see how we were doing. Water glasses were continually filled. No complaints about service or food. Reasonably priced for what you get.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rmwhitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
314 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Afghan fine dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Having been to Afghanistan many times since 2001 with the US Army I have found that they have some amazing food there, and Kabul does it right. Huge portions of Qabli Pulao, which is steamed rice with chops of raisins and carrot, and you can get it with Lamb as well. Absolutely delicious! They have a large selection of breads and kabobs as well, and several other Afghan dishes. The owners are family and extremely friendly. I advise anyone to try it, and strike up a good conversation to learn a little about Afghan tribal culture.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobourg, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great value..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

..and tasty, well prepared food. BYOB so very reasonable. Enjoyed the starter selection plate and I thought my colleague's pillau type lamb dish slightly better than my kabob, fairly empty but friendly.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tonyj202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMP
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“As often as I can, I will return”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Small but accommodating. The "kitchen" is at the entry, similar to a steak shop counter, with tables in the rear, but far enough removed that I did not hear any kitchen noise. Although I never have Afghani food before, I will again! Every dish was well prepared, seasoned, and served promptly, yet I did not feel rushed. Good value. We look forward to working through the menu.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CMPNearWater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kabul Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kabul Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing