We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Sushi Dinner”
Review of Zama

Zama
Reserve with OpenTable
Zama is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #228 of 4,390 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: US$21 - US$30
Cuisines: Japanese, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: City Center West
Cross street: Moravian
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“A Good Sushi Dinner”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The food and service were both good. I would recommend making a reservation on a Friday or Saturday night. We didn’t make a reservation and while we were seated immediately, we were seated outside…not ideal on a windy night!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CherryTravels17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    49
    22
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exton, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quality food, but not amazing”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Zama's decor was nice, but not inspiring. The food was somewhat hit or miss for my taste. I had the Chef's tasting menu. The egg custard was not what I was expecting and in this way was a major let down. The pounded tuna was one of the best dishes they had to offer. I would say it was an overall fine place with great service but I would not return. The atmosphere was quite loud and made conversations difficult.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trishthedish_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Park, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Fine, nothing special.”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The atmosphere was basically fine, but a 9-piece Chef’s Special sushi where 7 pieces are beige? Even the waiter didn’t know what they were. All different fish. Allegedly...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Japanese in Philadelphia”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Zama seems to be very popular with Penn students. The decor is traditional white birch; very beautiful and soothing. The sushi and sashimi were excellent, but we spent nearly 2 hours dining here. The reason (as other reviewers have consistently pointed out) is the slow service. Our waitress was charming, but just not very available. Our entrees did not come at the same time. Even when we asked for refills of our green tea, we waited 5+ minutes. The check took over 10 minutes to come.

We would definitely return, but we would order differently. Probably only sushi and sashimi. And, explain to the waiter when we needed to depart.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent sushi right off Rittenhouse Square”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I have dined for both dinner and lunch at Zama over 20 times this year. It is our go to place for high quality sushi. My personal favorite is their spicy churashi, which they can make extra spicy. I think service can be a little slow, but has never really bothered me. I personally think Zama is one of the best places in the city for sushi. Nice little tables outside that are easier to get from say Parc right on the square.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MalvernDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zama also viewed

 
 

Been to Zama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing