We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Guy Fieri's”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Standard Tap

Standard Tap
Ranked #233 of 4,341 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Grill, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Pittsgrove, New Jersey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One of Guy Fieri's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Some interesting choices on the menu. The food was good, the atmosphere was just okay, and the staff were friendly.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mirandamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    67
    17
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great Gastro Pub!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

My husband and I really love Standard Tap - whether going with friends, family or just ourselves we always enjoy the food, the beers and the service. The first floor is first-come, first-serve for a seat at the bar on grabbing a table. On the second floor, there is another bar area with first-come, first-serve tables and a restaurant area that takes reservations - we have sat in all three areas and all have good atmosphere. They also have an outdoor area on the second floor.

The food is not your average bar food, it is more of a gastro pub and it is all great. I always look at the specials because they have interesting, out of the ordinary entrees daily: venison stew, rabbit cassoulet, boar dishes. There are also non-game choices, but so few restaurants offer those entrees, that I like to take advantage. My go-to favorite is their chicken pot pie which is not a normal pot pie - it is a puff pastry with filling of chicken and vegetables (not the usual saucy deep-dish pot pie). It is so good. My husband, who has a high standard for burgers, says theirs is one of the best in the city, but he also enjoys a lot of the daily specials.

Large draught beer selection every day, so if you like a good selection, this is for you.

Service is always attentive and friendly.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lookingforhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So glad we went”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

We went to standard tap with a large group - teens and adults. It was a great meal and great ambience. The food was delicious and the beer was even better. Saw it on the travel channel a few months ago and had to try it out. I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
249 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“What a beer selection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

GREAT atmosphere and terrific beer selection. The food was tasty, although I wouldn't say the best I've had. But it's definitely worth a stop if you're in the No Libs area of Philly, which itself is a charming neighborhood.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spingal26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A brilliant brunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Come hungry and leave happy! It won't matter what you order, but certainly accompany your main with a side of the habanero grits. Just first rate, down home, no frills, outstanding cuisine. The food is the center of the attention, the service makes you the center of theirs. Get there!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rober M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Standard Tap also viewed

 

Been to Standard Tap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing