We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT food and really nice staff.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dinardo's Famous Seafood

Dinardo's Famous Seafood
Reserve with OpenTable
Dinardo's Famous Seafood is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,657 of 4,321 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: US$25 - US$60
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: City Center East
Cross street: 3rd & 4th Streets
Description: Since 1976, Family-owned DiNardo's serves Philly's best hard-shell "hot and dirty" steamed crabs and garlic style crabs flown in daily from the gulf coast. Award-winning traditional seafood, juicy steaks, chicken, pasta, and delicious salads also featured. DiNardo's friendly atmosphere will leave you feeling like one of the family.
Ontario
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“GREAT food and really nice staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

The seafood was sooo good here. They had just added crab mac n cheese to the menu and it was absolutely delicious. We told them to make sure to keep it on the menu. The waitress was so helpful at recommendations and so attentive. The main course plates were huge and we ended up taking the leftovers with us. It was freshly prepared and I added crab to mine for a small charge of $5- well worth it.
Highly recommend if you are in the area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CindyKirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    52
    39
    36
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nagoya, Japan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“'Famous' Crabs, Infamous Servings.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

My experience at DiNardo's began with a blast of warm humid heat coupled with flies that hopped off the fishing lure wall-art. We were seated at a worn in booth with bright red seats.

A selling item is the fries and the fish. After ordering from the expensive and limited menu, I was hopeful that the high price would match the order. My order of lump crab meat for $26 came in a small dish with a weak serving of fries scattered around the plate - not even enough to cover the bottom of the plate. This was noticed by 3 others in my party who also ordered french fries. The crab was a bit bland, and the clam strips were heavily breaded and fried. For the price, the quality and serving size are not proportional.

Added to the mix was an accidental spill of cocktail sauce that landed on my girlfriend (eventually taken care of generously by the manager).

I would not recommend this restaurant. If you want to spend a bunch of money choose a spot with a more diverse menu, tastier food, and a more upscale decor.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Old Favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

DiNardo's has been around forever. The quality if the food, taste and service is fabulous as always. Very personal no matter how long in between your visits. A little pricey and it seems the quantity as gone down but I guess that is a sign of the economy and the time we live in. Great place!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I will never go back !!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Sent $130 for unseasoned crabs and lobster was over cooked and asked to speak with the manager she came but was very unwilling to listen. Also did not remove lobster from bill after we requested her to do so !!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yasir121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Save your MONEY!!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Pros:

The service was good.
$5 off parking with your meal.

Cons:

The food is too expensive, three crabs can cost over $30 which is crazy.
The portions were tiny.
The restaurant looks old and dingy.
Paying $15 (minus $5 for validated ticket)
The food okay but not worth the money.

Too many flies.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank iluvsoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dinardo's Famous Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Dinardo's Famous Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing