We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large train station”

30th Street Station Philadelphia
Book In Advance
More Info
US$335.00*
and up
New York to Philadelphia Day Trip by Rail
More Info
US$329.00*
and up
Day Trip from New Haven CT to Philadelphia by Rail
More Info
US$32.00*
and up
City Sightseeing Philadelphia Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #31 of 450 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
ottawa canada
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
163 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Large train station”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Quite your typical large train station. The Amtrac and Septa(regional trains) arrive and depart. There is also a good food court plus food places near the gates. The main building has a set of very high columns.
What is odd about this building is to access the subway system you have to go outside down the street!
Hence an average rating.

Helpful?
Thank canadian-eh777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    180
    40
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Caulfield, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Stunningy Beautiful Fittings in this Amtrak Station”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We were traveling Amtrak from Washington DC to Lancaster PA, and had to change in Philadelphia. Apart from being an efficient changeover, we were stunned to walk into the magnificent auditorium of the station. The ornamental architecture had my wife and I both star-struck. America doesn't need Hollywood Stars, when it has functional buildings that are so beautiful. Well worth visiting.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank LeeHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Awesome Classic Station”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Beautiful Clean Quiet, even for a busy train station. Staff were very helpful. Highly recommend Amtrak train travel in and out of here. We saw our taxi driver, Joe, from our first night at the gate when we caught our train out and he came over to say HI! Hi Joe!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank scottholly505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great station”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

This is a great station with a good location. There are a good amount of restaurants to choose from, and it's very simple to get to the trains.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
633 reviews
187 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 665 helpful votes
“Venerable”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I really like the way 30th Street has kept that grand old station look...from the statues to the clock to the old-time information desk and train schedule display. Security is tight, as it should be. There are a few unappealing but not unruly folks camped out along the edges. The station sports a variety of restaurants in a food court, a pretty decent bar and a pretty good bookstore/newspaper/magazine shop . Outside on the street it can be a little seedy but there is a pretty good Irish Pub just across the road. I would advise sticking close to the station. There is a good museum-like exhibit of the construction and evolution of 30th Street Station. Personnel are generally helpful, but the police dogs are for protection, not petting.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TommyBoy94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 30th Street Station Philadelphia also viewed

 

Been to 30th Street Station Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing