We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful, and different too” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of NOORD eetcafe

NOORD eetcafe
Reserve with OpenTable
NOORD eetcafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #154 of 4,318 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Dutch, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Philadelphia PA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful, and different too”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

We tried this place based on other reviews we had read. Really, it surpassed expectations. The food was excellent, the service obliging, and many dishes were novel. This combination made it fun, and will definitely be going back. It was very busy, so reservations would be wise.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VeazieMDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    21
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
arlington, va
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Skeptical Patron Slowly Converted”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Despite having the worst table in the restaurant (right by the door on an absolutely freezing night), food & service won me over. Bread is hearty and served with delicious butter with huge garlic cloves. Had one of the two evening entree specials, striped bass in a light broth of chickpeas, spinach and tomatoes. Fish was served filleted, plus head and tail for decorative effect. Dish hit the table steaming hot and was just fantastic. Our table also enjoyed a rabbit barley soup and a seared salmon in a light chowder broth. Portions are generous and good to the last bite. Bravo.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hmcust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A "Don't Miss" destination”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, with Chef Lachman wandering the dining room throughout the night checking on his customers to see how they are enjoying his Holland and North European cuisine.

We shared a smoked seafood platter that contained 3 different and all delicious components: Salmon; Head on Prawns with hardboiled egg; Thin-sliced Scallop topped with a sprinkling of caviar. All were served on their own piece of toasted bread surrounded by pickled cucumbers and various greens topped with a remoulade-type (?) sauce. It was fantastic and more than enough for 2.

The most difficult time of the evening was trying to pick our entrees, with so many sounding so appetizing. With the staff’s help our choices were the Vinegar-braised Rabbit in a sweet-tart Dutch Krout and the Shellfish Choucrout with mussels, shrimp, clams, braised cabbage, smoked pork sausage, bacon, and potatoes, (which turned out to be the best seafood platter of this type that I have ever had.)

We usually have “a contest” to see who chose the best of the night - in this case both were so outstanding that there was no clear winner. Both of these dishes had rustic flavors that we just have not experienced before.

For dessert, the Chef suggested the gooseberry pie – which we shared and again it was fantastic.

With the above and coffee, before tip, the bill came to around $100. (Noord is a BYO). We can’t wait to share this restaurant and it’s fun experience with our family & friends – they will not be disappointed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
97 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Meatball app, fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Four of us had dinner two weeks ago. Everything was great, service was good and we were not rushed. We sat next to the open window on tasker st. The server took our order and did service from outside. We loved that.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
607 reviews
371 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Great Addition to East Passyunk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

A fun new addition to the great avenue of eating that is Passyunk. Across the street from Fond and Stateside, Noord as what seems to be an authentic scandanavian menu with many items I never tried before. Their pork meatball appetizers were great as is their rabbit dish. Prices are not cheap but fair and the BYOB always helps. Friendly, neighborly, all about the food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PelleasPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed NOORD eetcafe also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to NOORD eetcafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing