We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great to be back!”

South Street Souvlaki
Ranked #345 of 4,405 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: City Center East
Falkirk
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great to be back!”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

1st visit to this restaurant in 30 years and was pleased to find it as good as ever. 4 of us shared single portions of salad, "Greek sampler" and baklava and came out stuffed. The waitress was very friendly and full of laughs

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AllysonSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    41
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Greek Food”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We had a really yummy lunch here with a couple of glasses of wine. My husband and I shared a platter for $23. It was full of all the tastes of good home style Greek food. We really enjoyed it and were totally full...but had to try the Baklava $4 which was really good!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Staffymax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Memories abound”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My daughter lived in this neighborhood in the 70s great Greek food in fun environment. Took granddaughter here in the 90s for first octopus . Reasonable cost. After all these years, still good quality, affordable delicacies.
Keep on

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank minookajoe25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love the Greek Style Shrimp”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I really miss visiting this restrurant, they are family owned and have been around for a long time. It is a great date place. I really love their food and I have not been able to find anything that was similair. They close for one in August so beware.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank privatemf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great food, cozy setting, fast service”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

SO we wanted to eat at Jim's steak down the street but as the Eagles game had just ended the line was 40+ people long literally out the door and around the corner and not moving all that fast... When we walked down the busy South Street just a block we came across this Greeek and were very happy with our find. While it was a little crowded we were able to get seated right away, food came quickly and were out the door before we probably would have even of gotten to the fron tof the line at Jim's Steak place (which is a must go btw)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KPS92-5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed South Street Souvlaki also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 
 
Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to South Street Souvlaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing