We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Homewood Suites City Ave” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue
Ranked #36 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Harrisburg, United States
1 review
“Homewood Suites City Ave”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

I loved that the hotel suite had everything I needed. Kitchenette with microwave, full fridge, stove and sink. The bed was huge and extremely comfortable. The restaurant food tasted fresh and was well prepared.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Germaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    191
    78
    32
    25
See reviews for
254
124
43
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, MD
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Not a great option if you plan to use both the bedroom and the pull out couch. The sofa was about as bad as you expect a sleeper sofa to be. Small room, and just nothing special. Staff was very friendly, breakfast was average, but with the other options nearby I won't stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank rslev17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed here when we were in town for the Philadelphia Marathon. We had a one-bedroom suite.
The room was impeccably clean and in great shape. The kitchen was fairly well appointed.
One thing to be aware of is the fact that the bathroom is off the bedroom. We were a couple traveling with a friend and it was a bit strange for our friend to have to go through the bedroom to use the washroom. Also there was no fan in the washroom!
One TV in our room had audio but no picture. We didn't care so didn't let the desk know - so I can't comment on whether it would have been repaired.
The hotel was very quiet and had nice views. There are some decent restaurant options in the area - Chilli's, Olive Garden , T.G.I.Fridays, and a great sandwich place, Potbelly's (see my review).
Parking is in a lot down the street for $5 per night or, if you can find a spot on the street (there are quite a few), you just tell the front desk and they won't charge you for that night.
The breakfast is standard hotel fare - hot and cold cereals, a few pastries, a waffle maker, fruit, and some hot options like eggs and sausages. It was all pretty good, other than the coffee, which was awful (and I'm not a coffee snob.)
The pool is in the Hilton next door, but it's not far. It's small but fine. There is no hot tub. The adjacent fitness room is also quite small but fine - a few weights, a treadmill and maybe one other machine? All appeared to be in good working order.
The staff are the true asset at this hotel. Jannine (I hope I've spelled it correctly) was super helpful and very friendly. She went out of her way to make our stay great. And every other staff member that we encountered was friendly, welcoming, and helpful.
If we ever make it back for another marathon, we would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrSquirrel14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. Lauderdale, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

This is a very nice hotel. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are very homely, clean and comfortable. Although this hotel does not have a bar or restaurant, it is connected to a Hilton property via a hallway that does have all the accomodations. Great value!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cream Ridge, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Have stayed here 3 times, always clean and comfortable with friendly, helpful staff. Rooms offer nice desk area, good TV service, and well appointed kitchen area with necessary utensils. Bed was comfy, bathroom bright and roomy, no problems during my stay. Staff also accomodated need for delayed checkout time.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

This is a good hotel overall. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite on the 9th floor and it was satisfactory. It is a little deceiving as 2 bedrooms do not actually contain 2 bedrooms - the 2nd bed is directly in the living room. The business center and fitness center is not actually located in the hotel - its located in the attached hotel. The fitness center is very small with only a few cardio machines and a few free weights - better off getting a week gym pass at a local gym. Also parking is a little different from most hotels as you have to park in the parking lot down the street and validate your parking in the lobby every day. Overall, its a good hotel with a few minor annoyances.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Very Nice dinner service with pretty good food and drinks. This had very easy access to Philly when traveling on business. Good Value because you can save by not staying downtown on around the University but have easy commute. The Parking is a little strange but, it worked out

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue
#47 of 85 in Philadelphia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
University City
Homewood Suites University City
Homewood Suites University City
#26 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue
Address: 4200 City Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19131
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#17 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#33 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotel.de and Booking.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-City Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Philadelphia - City Ave Hotel Philadelphia
Homewood Philadelphia
Philadelphia Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing