We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Morris House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$347
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$261
Kimpton
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$227
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Windsor Suites(Philadelphia)
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$299
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$364
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$319
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (602)
Filter reviews
602 results
Traveller rating
383
171
27
14
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
383
171
27
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswashington squarethe main housecontinental breakfastno elevatorsitting roomcomplimentary glass of winepublic roomspennsylvania hospitalhistoric charmfreshly baked cookiesindependence hallthird floorcharming hotelacross the streetmodern conveniencesliberty bellsmall hotel
Filter
Updating list...
443 - 448 of 602 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2011

This historic hotel is beautiful and quite charming. I enjoyed hearing about it's history. I had excellent service while at this hotel. It is in an excellent location for seeing the city, being not far from the major attractions - within walking distance. My room was very charming, clean, and nicely appointed. My room overlooked the beautiful garden downstairs. We dined at the adjoining restaurant which had great food and excellent service. Overall this hotel was very nice and I would recommend it to others for a nice, relaxing stay. I will consider staying again the next time I am in town.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 303, a small suite. I felt the room was cozy and quiet and had a beautiful view of the garden/patio area downstairs.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kchesli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

In between conferences a friend and I booked into the Morris house hotel. All I can say is it was a delightful experience compared to the faceless big chain hotels we had been staying in for the conferences. This well preserved and historic hotel does it's best to pay attention to details and prides itself on retaining the 18th century charm of the property.

The hospitality and effort made to make you feel welcome and a real guest was second to none. It was a pleasure to sit and drink a cup of tea in the secluded garden, made you feel that the rat race of Phily was a million miles away.

The only downside was the temperamental toilet, which kept blocking but as with any old house, you have to expect these things. The problem was always resolved with lots of apologies, so it was no real hassle.

I would highly recommend a visit to Morris house as the perfect retreat from the hectic city life.

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful, there is no
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tievie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Breakfast was included and it was a continental style breakfast.

Room Tip: Our room was very spacious, cozy and warm - highly recommended.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rcfalc0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Our family of four (two adults & teens) required a single night stop over on our way to the beach after a late start -rather than stay in chain motel along the highway we ventured into Philly (only 10 minutes out of the way) and were very pleased with our decision. The Morris House is a unique property with a blend of old world charm and modern conveniences (TVs & appliances). It is a large brick estate complete, with 19th century architecture and art, surrounded by high wrought iron gates and brick fences, but the rooms are modern, large, clean and comfortable. (View their helpful website to choose your exact room/accomodations). We chose a large suite (ten-foot ceilings) with a king bed, living room (pull-out couch), small kitchen and a massive marble bathroom - at a reasonable price. We arrived after 10 pm and a call to the front desk brought out a friendly person to unlock their front gate, check-us-in, and guided us to our room! Great service! The property sits right off a major city park and is a five minute walk to Independence Hall and the nearby Liberty Bell (Free). A light breakfast is included, eat in their large open air court yard, while they will provide a stamp for 15% off over night parking ($18) located across the street. The Morris House was a pleasant surprise!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RockyFingerLakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Beautiful property. Great location. Exceptionally friendly staff (that has to work hard as there seems to be only one person on duty most of the time to run the desk, the food, and any other requests). Big suite with room for 2 adults on a bed and 2 kids on a sofabed, plus kitchenette. Kids loved afternoon tea! Breakfasts could be better -- the only complaint (apples and oranges in July? Adequate but not very good pastries and one kind of cereal -- raisin bran. Tough to get a nutritious breakfast).

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eternaloptimist25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews