We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very charming hotel”
Review of Morris House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Morris House Hotel
Ranked #21 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2012

I have stayed at the Morris House hotel several times
and never been disappointed.
The rooms are very charming ,the staff and the owners are very friendly and helpful and the food at the restaurant M is delicious and season permitting lets not forget the beautiful garden .If one likes to take a step in the past ,but with the advantages of the present ( Internet ) this in Philly is the perfect place

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sole2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorrisHouseHotel, Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (585)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

354 - 360 of 585 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2012

Great location, wonderful staff and unlimited colonial charm. If you are looking for authentic Philadelphia - this is where you should stay

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorrisHouseHotel, Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Thanks! We're glad you enjoyed your time at The Morris House Hotel :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I have stayed in many hotels while traveling for business, and none of them measure up to the Morris House Hotel. The first thing that struck me when my cab pulled up was the beautiful columns that line the entrance way. It felt like I was walking into a governor's mansion. The staff were friendly, quick to help me with my bags and, most impressive, remembered my name! My room was VERY nice, it was clean and cozy and very quiet. Best night of sleep in a long time, and I usually don't sleep well on the road.

The historic feel of the hotel is like nothing I've experienced. Beautiful original wood floors, a warm fireplace to sit by for afternoon tea and an amazing courtyard tie the place together.

I think my favorite part though was the layout. There are no long hallways in this hotel, in fact there are separate stairwells that each access only 4 rooms, so even though the hotel was fully booked (15 rooms) when I was there, I never felt like I was surrounded by people. The result was peace and quiet that made unwinding after working all day very easy.

5 stars to this hotel! I strongly recommend it!

Room Tip: 203 is in the back of the hotel off St. James street-- very quiet, cozy and great view of the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorrisHouseHotel, Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Thank you so much! We appreciate the kind words. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

The Morris hotel was really the highlight of our stay. While Philly just wasn't our cup of tea, we loved the hotel and it's historic charm. The room was lovely, the food delicious and the service wonderful. Thanks!
the only down side is the parking expense...but that is consistant anywhere in Philly..

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorrisHouseHotel, Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Thank you! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Morris House Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We stayed in a double room, breakfast included. It's what you would expect of an old building, small bathroom, etc. For visiting the local historical attractions, a great location, it's clean, comfortable and hospitable, and though above a subway, it is quiet and charming. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cwusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorrisHouseHotel, Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

We're glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Morris House Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

This hotel was great!! It's an old house from the 1700's converted into a hotel. The old wood floors, design of the furnishings were very old world and took us back to the old world. There are a couple of drawbacks due to the age of the house. If you have neighbors that stay out late, you can hear them coming in as the floors creak and the doors slam closed. Also, every time the Subway goes by below the entire house shakes. Other than that, it was spectacular. The ambiance alone makes up for the drawbacks. I would recommend this highly couples with no kids if you want to experience history in your hotel room.

Room Tip: We were in room 201, very cool room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StaciP3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorrisHouseHotel, Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

The staff here at The Morris House Hotel are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed at the hotel for a 2-day break and were absolutely blown away by the Morris House. Pleasantly greeted at reception we were given a tour of the hotels's amenities and then shown to Room 301, a luxury room which we had chosen by looking at their website.

The hotel is in a perfect location to walk to the majority of the central suburbs and tourist attractions and the hotel is a delight to return to after a day out. Breakfast is self service in the period dining room with lots of period paintings and ornaments that add to the atmosphere and there is a good selection offered for breakfast. Mid-afternoon, tea and homemade cookies are served in the lounge/drawing room.

Our bedroom was spacious and in keeping with the period-style with a wonderfully comfortable bed and a well-equipped bathroom.

The menu and cuisine on offer in the adjoining restaurant, called M was incredible. We were also fortunate enough to be able to eat al fresco which was a bonus in the mood-lit spacious courtyard which is part of the hotel.

Would we return, MOST DEFINITELY. Would we recommend to others, MOST DEFINITELY.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorrisHouseHotel, Manager at Morris House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Thank you so much for such kind words! We look forward to seeing you again here at The Morris House Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
City Center East
Alexander Inn
Alexander Inn
#7 of 88 in Philadelphia
1,396 reviews
Penn's View Hotel
#13 of 88 in Philadelphia
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chestnut Hill
Chestnut Hill Hotel
Chestnut Hill Hotel
#16 of 88 in Philadelphia
496 reviews
City Center West
Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morris House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morris House Hotel

Address: 225 S 8th St, Philadelphia, PA 19106-3519
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#20 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: £110 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Morris House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This national historic landmark, renovated into a luxury boutique hotel, offers cozy accommodations and elegantly combines 18th century charm with all of today's modern conveniences.The Morris House Hotel offers uniquely decorated rooms, complete with charming views of the private garden or city. Free Wi-Fi is included.Guests at the hotel can enjoy a delicious continental breakfast every morning and afternoon tea with homemade cookies. M Restaurant, located on site, features French-inspired cuisine and a garden patio.Only a short distance from the Morris House are some of Philadelphia's main attractions. Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell are moments away. A number of world-renowned restaurants, shops and theaters are also within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Morris House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morris Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing