We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Hotel Especially at Its Cost” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Morris House Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Morris House Hotel
Ranked #10 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Terrific Hotel Especially at Its Cost”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

I stayed for business. Great location. Extraordinary service. Quite similar to renting a flat. The hotel was far less expensive than the chain hotels near US District Court. I will stay here when I come back to Phila.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    159
    21
    14
    7
See reviews for
92
296
38
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

My partner and I had a very nice one-night stay at this charming hotel. Some points that other travelers might find relevant:

*building was historic, so guests should expect it to be charming and perfectly clean but not necessarily have the latest and greatest technology everywhere (for instance, the shower was a stall and not a bathtub in our room). Having said that, it had basically all the usual conveniences of a modern hotel.

*wonderful little details - doors have old-style locks, beautiful brick building, cute iron gate around the building, etc.

*complimentary tea and coffee all the time in the sitting room

*very friendly and respectful staff

*hotel restaurant had extremely tasty, inventive and beautifully presented food. Restaurant had indoor seating or beautiful little courtyard with trees. Fairly expensive, though, since meals were presented in courses and several courses were necessary to have a full meal.

*although hotel is very centrally located in historic section of Philadelphia, with lots of public transportation and people walking around etc., totally fine for light sleepers: the new windows really block noise, and although hotel is right above the Philly subway and the whole building shakes a little when trains pass, amazingly this does not prevent you from sleeping (and I would know, I wake up from noises or movement even when sleeping with earplugs). And the atmosphere of the hotel is so lovely that it only helps you get a refreshing sleep. So guests should be aware that there is the subway right under the building, but should rest assured that they can have a relaxing and restful stay nevertheless.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

Reviews are personal. We are from Europe, live in a period - albeit rather younger and very much more modest - property. We felt really comfortable here, it was like staying with friends. Yes there is urban noise, but no more than in any serious city. The rooms are very tastefully decorated and furnished, but still in a comfortable manner. The staff were attentive, charming, helpful and friendly. The only criticism was that on a busy evening in the Courtyard garden where there was a rush of diners, it took two ages to get my check for some drinks. I do not know the neighbourhood or how it relates to US urban neighbourhoods generally and so cannot comment on location, save to observe it is historic. But the hotel is an oasis of calm to return to whatever the case.

If you like period properties then this is a gracious, graceful, hotel and a delight to stay in. I'm now some miles away in a Marriott. It does the same job without the charm. As ever it is a matter of horses for courses. I know which I prefer.

If you are interested in art then the Barnes Foundation is worth visiting. There are "lesser" works there - volume is no guarantee of quality - but there are real outstanding gems too.

The Morris House Hotel is in this league. It isn't for everyone - but for those of us who enjoy history, architecture, style, and understated hospitality this is a quality establishment.

I don't know when we will next be visiting Philly, but when we do I know where we will stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy Hook, Connecticut
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We really loved the Morris House and the staff. Its location is perfect, a short walk to Independence Green, the Liberty Bell, Constitution Hall, Reading Market (WOW), and on it goes. You have to go to the Walnut Street Theater, the oldest in the US. Just walk everywhere. We found great restaurants that we loved, just by asking the locals where they would recommend we eat.

Our daughter is a singer and wanted someplace to warm up without disturbing anyone. Walbert opened up the then closed M Restaurant to give her privacy.

The building itself is wonderful. A classic from the 1800’s with wide plank floors, high ceilings, moldings and trim work, etc. We spend Sunday morning in the library with a book and newspaper on a couch by the fire. The hotel is furnished in antique furniture with very comfortable seating and beds. The things that make it so wonderful are also the reason we are having a tough time with the review. The Morris House is very noisy.

We were in Rooms 201 and 202. 8th Street has a lot of truck traffic, starting up at the corner and moving down the street. The subway felt like a small earthquake and actually knocked things off a shelf. We could not sleep. The staff response that “we would get used to it” was not adequate. Do not book rooms on the 8th Street side of the hotel.

There was also a wedding and rehearsal dinner while we were there. While decorated beautifully, we noticed that not all children or adults have hotel manners. We would have expected the staff to be mindful of the noise level and ask the parents to control their children who were running and screaming below us. The early morning/late night drinkers were noticeable for their loud discussions and colorful language.

Should we travel to Philly again, we would book rooms at the carriage house or the third floor on St. James Street.

Room Tip: Read the review and do not book a room on the 8th Street side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bob_cindy_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

we have stayed at the Morris House Hotel many times and continue to enjoy the staff,location, and clean comfortable rooms.We book this hotel several times in a year and always find the staff to be friendly and helpful. The Morris House is a little gem-the best of Philly!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 340baila340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

Morris House Hotel was in a good central position with short walks to centre of town and historic sites. Rooms were large and very comfortable and clean, ours had a large separate living area with full kitchen. Could hear trains coming but they never interrupted our sleep.
Continental breakfast only (included in price) but was not great at all, for the price one should expect a much better quality. Would be better to eat out.
Staff were all very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coralie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh
Level Contributor
95 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

I found this hotel on Google maps and loved the central location. So here are the pros and cons:
Pros : Location. Can't be beat. Short walks to top restaurants, historical sites (Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, etc).
Large comfortable rooms. Clean, comfortable and very spacious. The rooms are very, very nice. A/C, flat screen TV with a lot of channels, room services, maid cleaned, etc.
Afternoon tea and complimentary glass of wine.
10% off at the attached M restaurant.

Cons: Can be a little noisy. What do you expect from a downtown restaurant? Well the trains coming through do tend to shake things, but I found it kind of amusing and it didn't affect my comfortable sleep on a great bed.
Breakfast : Continental, and included in the price, but not inspiring. Need to improve here as you can go out and get a great breakfast elsewhere.
No elevator : Can't put one in due to a listed building, but bear it in mind if you're on the 3rd floor and ask the staff to take bags up to your room.

Room Tip: Get a room over the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Les S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Alexander Inn
Alexander Inn
#8 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,557 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morris House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morris House Hotel

Property: Morris House Hotel
Address: 225 S. 8th St., Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#12 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#20 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Morris House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This national historic landmark, renovated into a luxury boutique hotel, offers cozy accommodations and elegantly combines 18th century charm with all of today's modern conveniences.The Morris House Hotel offers uniquely decorated rooms, complete with charming views of the private garden or city. Free Wi-Fi is included.Guests at the hotel can enjoy a delicious continental breakfast every morning and afternoon tea with homemade cookies. M Restaurant, located on site, features French-inspired cuisine and a garden patio.Only a short distance from the Morris House are some of Philadelphia's main attractions. Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell are moments away. A number of world-renowned restaurants, shops and theaters are also within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Morris House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morris Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing