We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Morris House”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Morris House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Morris House Hotel
Ranked #9 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Morris House”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed here in September for 3 days, really great find. we arrived not really knowing what to expect, they upgraded us to a suite, we had a huge room, had a kitchen, sitting room, balcony,and very comfy bed. its really a historical beauty. the breakfast and cookies were great, we will be back for sure, not anything bad to say. thank you for the wonderful stay, oh, also great location, can walk anywhere. Italian market must see, old city very close. If you have legs you can walk anyplace, area is very safe in the day, just like any other city gotta be a little more careful at night.

Room Tip: We found this on one of the hotel sites, I think expedia but not positive
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    160
    21
    14
    7
See reviews for
95
297
39
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Just stayed here. Staff were fabulous--knowledgeable, helpful, friendly.
Would have liked to know more about the history of the place. They provided a little bit, but could have provided more. Good location.

Room Tip: No elevator (totally understandable), which may be an issue for elderly visitors. Stairs have sturd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at Morris House Hotel for a quick one-night stay related to a Univ of Pennsylvania event. Morris House is a gem in the middle of the Philadelphia historic district.

You should park in the lot across from the hotel - just be sure to have your parking ticket validated to save 15% off the $30/night parking fee.

The "home" is beautifully maintained and managed by the staff. The experience is completely unlike a traditional "hotel" packed-in-like-sardines experience. There are a ton of stairs which clearly would be an issue for anyone with a physical disability.

Morris House is connected to M Restaurant via a gorgeous 200 year old courtyard which serves as the restaurant's seating area. The only reason we didn't eat there is because we want to explore the city a bit. We asked for a dining recommendation from the front desk and we were directed to the "GayBorHood" section of town which is just a few blocks away from the hotel. It was a lovely night and we walked a few blocks up walking through the fun and funky neighborhood. We found a fantastic Mexican place (very chic with great atmosphere) called El Vez.

The bed and bedding were wonderful and the room itself was beautiful. The only odd moment of the evening was when we felt a tremor go through the entire room, and I remembered reading other TripAdvisor reviews about the subway which runs under the hotel. We had a laugh, and it wasn't an issue at all.

The European breakfast is lovely and served in the gorgeous dining room and library of the home. There is free wi-fi, although the signal was a bit weak on the 3rd floor.

All in all, I would strongly recommend Morris House Hotel for any stay in Philadelphia. You are literally steps from the best Philly has to offer.

Room Tip: The train tremor seems to effect the higher floors more - but you really can't go wrong anywhere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ogeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Ash, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

My sister and I loved our stay at the Morris House room 203. The ambiance, staff and foods were wonderful. We started our morning with mini-quiches, cereal, delicious breads and potent coffee in a period style dining room before our days of sight seeing. In the evening, we returned to the beautiful and restful patio, sipped complementary wine and relived our day's activities. We also looked forward to the delicious home baked cookies after our wine. Because we ate late lunches (City Tavern and Penns Landing), we never tried the restaurant. We realized that we were going back in time and thus would need to take steps (rather than an elevator) to our room. An in-room coffee maker would have been welcomed -- we knew this in advance so brought our own mini-coffee maker. We totally loved our stay in this special hotel.

Room Tip: Room 203 is the first room at the top of the stairs. There's a TV in bedroom, but not the sitti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I just checked out of this historic hotel; the building had another use before becoming a hotel. It was built in the 18th century.
Everything was very good. The room was very comfortable and I enjoyed reading old World Book encyclopedias from the '60's. The PATCO subway runs under the hotel and it rattled all the furniture in the room but I got used to it.
When I return home next year I will stay there with relatives. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgefromSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We had room 301. which was lovely and comfortable but up some steep stairs. We loved this hotel, the only thing we didn't like was how they served their breakfast. Self service in two separate rooms, I would have liked better bread and fruit.
Despite my reservations with breakfast, we could not fault this hotel for anything else. Room comfort, efficiency of reception staff with bookings etc. and the hotel's proximity to Independence Square was brilliant.
Taxi drivers struggled a bit to find it though, as you have to go beyond it to come back down a one way street.

If you don't like plastic style modern hotels, this one oozes old style charm and elegance

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonniegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuBois, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
189 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This is the 2nd time I've had the pleasure of staying at the Morris House Hotel on South 8th street in Philadelphia.
The hotel is a huge piece of history and is decorated accordingly. it is comfortable and perfectly located right around the corner from Washington Square.
The best restaurants are just a block or two away and also close to so many historic locations.
The staff certainly knows excellence in customer service as they tend to every single need you have.
I love this hotel and would stay again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Courtyard. It is just beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pam15801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Alexander Inn
Alexander Inn
#8 of 85 in Philadelphia
1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4,683 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morris House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morris House Hotel

Property: Morris House Hotel
Address: 225 S. 8th St., Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#12 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#20 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Morris House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This national historic landmark, renovated into a luxury boutique hotel, offers cozy accommodations and elegantly combines 18th century charm with all of today's modern conveniences.The Morris House Hotel offers uniquely decorated rooms, complete with charming views of the private garden or city. Free Wi-Fi is included.Guests at the hotel can enjoy a delicious continental breakfast every morning and afternoon tea with homemade cookies. M Restaurant, located on site, features French-inspired cuisine and a garden patio.Only a short distance from the Morris House are some of Philadelphia's main attractions. Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell are moments away. A number of world-renowned restaurants, shops and theaters are also within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Morris House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morris Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing